Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
We absolutely loved this recipe. The only thing I did different was use Better than Bullion instead of the chicken broth. We really enjoyed the heartiness of this recipe--my husband (who likes his meat) thought it was such a good veggie dish that he insists I make it again!! The barley gave a nice, hearty chew to it which made him not miss meat at all. And even without adding any spices it still tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I give this soup a 4 only because without seasonings (sea salt, parsley and a tad of basil) it was kinna bland. We also blended our soup since it was easier for little kids to eat and we love the smooth texture. Thumbs up from the kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
this is great and all love it. I double the veggies and add a yellow pepper and a box rather than can of broth and if too thick add water that I boiled chicken in. Also use one cup of barley instead. I boil 2 chicken breast to add to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This soup is DELISH! I followed the recipe almost exactly -- didn't have veg oil so used EVOO, used veg broth for chicken since i am vegetarian, and upped the barley to 1/2 cup. it came out hearty and so yummy, and it was super easy to make. this soup is definitely going to be a staple in my house for the coming winter. highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Very easy! It tastes really good for such a simple ingredient list. I used all fresh tomatoes and vegetarian broth then added a pinch of salt and more pepper. It's filling comfort food, but also very light. Next time I will probably put the tomatoes through the blender before I cook them because I like a slightly thicker broth. Will make again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I love it! The barley gives it such a great texture, and all the veges make it so hearty. I didn't have any fresh tomatoes, so I just used an extra can of diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I really loved this soup! I didn't add tomatoes but only the canned. I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Hawkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This soup was really awesome however I did add some sea salt. Going to try adding chicken and perhaps a different spin using beef broth and beef stew meat and see how it turns out! Quick and easy preparation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
My roommates & I loved it. Perfect for a rainy day after buying produce at farmer's market. I also added a tsp. of dried thyme to go with the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States