Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I just made this soup and it is wonderful. I used diced tomatoes with jalapeño for a little kick. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly Barber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This recipe is good but for the summer we like a soup that is cold. I usually use canned diced tomatoes with seasoning in it. The rest of the ingrediensts come from cans, carrots sliced, cannoli beans, kidney beans, sliced potatoes, and anything else you want to put in it. I also add V8 to make it souppy and this will add more flavor. This really hits the spot when you are hungry but want something that is cold rather than hot. Allso I make bean salads this way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I liked it very much, but I did add greens, salt and some fresh basil and served it with homemade croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lalindabell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Malibu, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
My mother loves tomatoes and what a delicious way to serve them. Excellent flavor. My granddaughter is a vegetarian and used the vegetable broth. Yummy!!thank you for a great quick and healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Loved this recipe just as it is.(Winter I add 1/4 more barley). It is a harty delicious nutricious soup--great on a cold winter day or nice as a delicious light lunch in the summer with a big slice of home made bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Yes, I really loved this recipe!!! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zoraida

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I have been making this soup for YEARS, and love it every time. If you're doing it for other than diet purposes, & want it thicker, just cook biscuits or fluffy dumplings on it before you serve! The little starch makes the broth a little thicker, and nothing says comfort food like dumplings or biscuits served on a soup as great as this!!! HTH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
A nice thick and hearty soup. We like the consistency of this soup and the delicious flavor the barley added. I made this as written, but would have liked it even better if there was a little spice to it. Maybe by adding zesty canned diced tomatoes or a few red pepper flakes. All in all this was very good served with a thick slice of homemade bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I like rich beef recipes, so I altered it to include beef in beef broth, but photog is right. If the recipe is enough on it's own to make my mouth water and can't wait to try it...we all have our own fine tuning...I give this a 5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I hate to give this recipe such a low rating because it is a good BASE. However, it had NO FLAVOR! I think if you added some spicy ground sausage and maybe used flavored diced tomatoes, it could be much better but as is, it was bland city.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hutto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States