Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This turned out to be a great soup, after making some changes/additions. I was short on time so I cooked the barley separately (quick cooking) and added it right before serving. I used between 1/2 and 3/4 cup uncooked. I didn't use any water, just 2 cans of chicken broth. I added about 1 tsp. basil (the frozen from Trader Joes is better than dried), 4 or 5 shakes of chili powder and salt and pepper to taste. In addition, I used 1/2 small can of tomato paste. I wanted a thick, not broth based soup, so I pureed about 3/4 of the soup, just leaving some tomato and onion chunks. Before serving, a added about 1/2 bag of frozen, chopped spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Little bit of salt and EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Just too tomato-y Felt it overwhelmed the vegetables Have better barley vegetable soup recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This recipe was ok. A little bland for my taste so I added extra salt and a teaspoon or so of basil. I plan to add a little chili powder now as another reviewer suggested. Hopefully that will fix it or I'll probably not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Great base for "extra room" to play with, I minced my vegetables and added beef broth, diced pieces of leftover round steak and rice ( didn't have barley) I did take the advice of others and added some basil and kosher salt. What a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DottieS

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I added 2 cans of chicken broth, ellbow macaroni and a can of diced Mexican tomatoes. It was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
A great base recipe that you can adjust to your own preference.I agreed that it needed more seasonning. i omitted the oil and sauteed with a bit of cooking spray, then added grated zucchini, green beans, a can of tomato paste, basil, parsley, bay leaf and a touch of Mrs Dash. It turned into almost a cream based soup but really low in calories. A great healthy soup that seems decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
My family and I enjoyed this recipe. Great Healthy Recipe Idea. Thanks a million.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I've made this 3 or 4 times, and every time it's just perfect. I add lots of basil (1Tbsp?). Fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Princeton, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Yummy. I added about a teaspoon of dried basis and some kosher salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABESGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States