Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I thought it needed a little more seasoning to make it interesting. I also added some ground beef to make it a full meal soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Being a bit of a soup novice this one was fantastic! It was easy to make, and used ingredients I had already. I will definately be making it again, though I think next time I'll be throwing in some chicken for a bit of protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
OK,this is from an Englishman who REALLY loves soup and I have to say this is one of the best.Just a few changes, I added a handfull of pasta twists used garlic salt instead of a clove and just a splash of olive oil seved it with a sprikle of parmesan and wholemeal bread .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARLES LIPPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Excellent!!! Except for stock, we never make soup. We followed the receipe exactly but we added some cooked polish sausage. We sliced it into about 2 inch pieces and put it in as we turned the soup down to a simmer. My wife and I ate it with sourdough bread and loved it. The receipe was enough for anbother meal. It is in the freezer for another day. Thanks, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acorn2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Union Pier, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
My husband and I really liked this soup. However, I used two large cans of diced tomatoes, and instead of fresh tomatoes, I used two cans of stewed tomatoes one of which was Italian flavored, a pinch of red pepper flakes and 1 Tbsp chicken boullion instead of broth. I didn't add extra water as I didn't cook the barley in the soup. In fact I put some of soup in a blender to thicken and I got the consistancy I wanted. I then divided the amount to be used as two seperate dishes. One I added boiled potatoes to since I didn't have any rice or barley on hand, and the second I actually added the barley to on another day. Great low cal soup, and it was easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I made this soup on a Saturday..adding the cabbage as suggested by another food lover. Sunday I became ill. This is the best soup and saved me as I struggled through the next 2 days !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I got so many compliments on this recipe. It's perfect for a cold winter day meal. The only things I did differently was to add more barley,a can of corn, a pound of ground sausage and some cumin & garlic powder. You'll be lucky to have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
As others have written, this is a decent base recipe. We added additional vegetables & herbs (basil & fresh parsley) along w/ straight chicken stock (no water). It’s okay but most likely won’t make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
First of all, message to photog.... RIGHT ON! I give this a 5 star even tho I did change a few things (chagrin chagrin) because I wasn't paying attention. I did NOT change any of the ingredients, I just boo booed with the quantities. You just can't miss with the flavour base of onions, celery and carrots. I had accidently frozen 3 fresh tomatoes (don't ask)and needed to use them. I didn't look at the can and it was 28 oz not 14. So I did not add water at all, but used home made chicken broth, at least 48 oz and maybe more. Plus, because I don't highly salt my broth I did add a bit more salt (canned chicken broth can be pretty salty). I also ended up adding an extra 1/4 cup barley (did I mention I love barley in soup?) Thank you Nancy, it's perfectly wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I thought the recipe as written was bland, but a good base to add to. I sauted garlic and sausage meat and added that to the soup along with some grated cheese. I may try it again and use beef pieces to make a beef barley soup.Four stars for a good "base" soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Gearity Bory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Living In: Deer Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States