Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
i used to make this a lot but lost my recipe. I was so delighted to have found the recipe. I didnt have my garlic this time thought and it is still perfectly yummy. I how ever use my own canned tomatoes. Thank you for being the only one who has the tomato barley soup recipe on this whole site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tiffin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Very nice and very easy to make. Healthy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
The soup was really great ! I did puree half of the soup and poured it back into pot, for a little creamier texture. The only thing I did different was add a potato. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Great Soup! I added a can of black beans and zucchini. I also added tiny tofu squares (i cut them teeny-tiny and added it with the rest of the vegetables). It was really good and they were so cute floating in the soup. I will add them to other soups that I make that don't need to be pureed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I adjusted the recipe just a little and after adding 2 cups of Play sand, I thought it was just a bit dry. --- I agree with the gentleman that say you should not rate a recipe your have not tasted. if you modify it you are actually rating your own mess, but it affects the rating of the recipe submitted. STOP IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
My husband loved it! Thanks for the great recipe. This is a chunky filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
So, SO delicious! I added a can of corn and did 4 cups of chicken broth instead of water. It was really good and I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I thought this soup was great. I would just like to recommend that when simmering leave it covered. I had to add more broth due to evaporation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This recipe lacked flavor. I was disappointed because of all the rave reviews. I wanted a smooth texture so I put the tomatoes, celery, and onion through a food processor but I don't feel that would have made a difference. I also realize the soup would be better if it were made in the summer. I added V-8 juice and some basil to spice it up. It also needed salt. It was much better that way. However, when I served it for dinner both my husband and I had to throw it away. Bummer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This soup was really easy to make. I liked the taste, but I enjoy very simple flavors. My husband and brother in-law both added hot sauce to the soup because they found the flavor a little dull. I think the soup needs some more spices... right now all of the flavor comes from the tomatoes and the pepper. Also I found the soup needed some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sruddach
Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States