Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Just right! I added a little extra barley and a little more broth (veg broth). I also used the can of diced tomatoes that contained green chiles. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This was an awesome recipe. Going off the recipe and adding the cabage lended itself perfectly to a new variation. I was short on time so I used condensed tomato soup instead of making it. We also added some crispy crumbled bacon, basil, and whipping cream to add a little more to the soup. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rainyk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I really like this soup. I made the soup exactly as the recipe was written the first time. Then I changed a few things. I sautéed the veggies in 1 tablespoon of butter and 1 tablespoon of canola oil until almost tender. I omitted the fresh tomatoes and used 2 cans of the canned tomatoes. I omitted the water and used a 32 oz box of chicken broth. (Veggie broth when my vegetarian nephew comes to visit). I also increased the barley to 3/4 cup. After adding the barley I reduced the heat to low, covered the pan and let the soup simmer for 45 – 60 minutes. I wasn’t ready to serve right when it was done so I turned the heat off and let it sit, covered, for an hour or so and the barley absorbed more of the broth and the soup was thick like a stew. My family loved it that way. I will be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Made this for dinner the other night and it was delicious! Even better when reheated! Will definately make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux Lookout, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Absolutely yummy!!! Doubled the water, carrots, added 3/4 cup uncooked barley. Left out the fresh tomatoes, just added the can of diced tomatoes. A little dried basil, a few bay leaves. Didn't have the can of chicken broth, threw in 2 chicken boullion cubes. Also added chunks of leftover sirloin tip roast. Will add an extra cup of water or will get a can of broth for next time. Enough left over for my husband and I for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
My family loved this, I put in more barely 1 cup. I also added zucchini, dried basil. I served it with home made pizza bread. Super yummy! we'll cook it again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peppermintkathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. And very easy. The only addition I make is some chop suey meat that I add, already cooked, about 10 minutes before the soup is done. My 9 year old daughter constantly requests this soup. I make this almost weekly during the winter months. Thanks for a tasty and healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Very healthy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This soup was very hearty and filling but it was nothing special. It seemed like it was the "Zero Point" Weight Watchers soup with barley added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Absolutely delicious. I did add a little more barley after reading some reviews and also a zucchini plus some cabbage. I had some homemade vegetable stock, so I used that instead of the water. We live in Norther Ontario and this is a wonderful, tasty soup is great in this really cold weather. Thanks so much Nancy for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freelton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States