Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was pretty good but like other reviews it needs more flavor. I will make agin but add some tweeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Darlington, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This was such a simple soup; I wasn't sure if it would taste bland, so I made sure to follow the recipe. I made it exactly as written, except for the fact that I have no fresh tomatoes, so I simply skipped them. The soup was still very "tomatoey" with just the can of tomatoes. I used the amount of barley it called for, and it didn't seem like enough the first day. By the second day, however, the barley had thickened and enlarged considerably, and the soup was perfect. I was surprised by how flavorful and delicious it was! I love healthy soups, and this is another winner recipe. Thanks so much for sharing...I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
A bit bland, but definitely a nice fresh-tasting soup. Mixed in some sofrito and that gave it some more flavor. I'd also use more barley next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
soup was a family favorite,good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Beacon Falls, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Good soup! I added some chicken for my hubby's benefit. Used veggie broth. The only herb I added was to simmer a bay leaf in the soup. I did throw a handful of frozen chopped spinach in for the last ten minutes. That made it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
LOVED it. Very easy to make and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I love this soup and have always made it according to the recipe with the exception of adding a little basil and more barley. Today, I made a mistake and used a can of diced tomatoes with basil,garlic and oregano. Still great. Thanks for the wonderful recipe, Nancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
i used to make this a lot but lost my recipe. I was so delighted to have found the recipe. I didnt have my garlic this time thought and it is still perfectly yummy. I how ever use my own canned tomatoes. Thank you for being the only one who has the tomato barley soup recipe on this whole site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tiffin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Very nice and very easy to make. Healthy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
The soup was really great ! I did puree half of the soup and poured it back into pot, for a little creamier texture. The only thing I did different was add a potato. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States