Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This is wonderful soup, I make this often and take it to events where others love it too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Brighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was really good. I did up the barley to 1/2 a cup. It was a very satisfying soup. I usually like more complex flavours in a soup, but this was simple in a good way- BUT I may try to jazz it up in the future because I felt it needed a little something. Tip: When I was chopping the vegetables, I ended up with a lot more celery than the other veg, but I decided to throw them in anyways. You could definitely taste the flavour imbalance, there was too much celery, so don't do what I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I absolutely hate tomatoes, but I really like this soup. I followed some raters' suggestions, and added more than the suggested amount of barley (1/3 C total, but I think next time i'll add even more), and i pureed a few cups of the soup and then returned it to the pot (just to thicken the soup a bit). Also added some celery salt, and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Excellent recipe. Despite the lack of flavoring elements, this soup had a really robust taste just from the vegetables themselves. I added 1/2 head of small cabbage and liked the textural contrast. Every meal with this soup was great - even towards the fourth day, there was still enough liquid left with the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
YUM!!! This was wonderful - even my husband, who typically doesn't like homemade soup, gobbled it up. I did add about a teaspoon of granulated garlic and a few tablespoons of Mexican-style tomato sauce to the soup, and also followed other reviewers' suggestions by pureeing some of it and adding it back in to the pot for the last 5-10 minutes. I could have eaten the whole pot by myself in one sitting. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souzan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I found this way too bland for my taste, and I'm a barley lover. I'll experiment with adding some spices, but I won't make it again as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Great recipe. Only thing I add is cabbage. I've made this many times now and people who try it really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
it was OK. i did not care for it but every one else really liked it. i did not have any barley so i added orzo. personally it came out to thick for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I found it to be a little greasy from the sauted veggies. I would recommend not sauteing the veggies in oil. I would have also added more barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Really good soup! I added more barley as others suggested (maybe a bit much as it absorbed a lot of liquid) and it was a tasty and hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States