Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Made this for dinner the other night and it was delicious! Even better when reheated! Will definately make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux Lookout, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Absolutely yummy!!! Doubled the water, carrots, added 3/4 cup uncooked barley. Left out the fresh tomatoes, just added the can of diced tomatoes. A little dried basil, a few bay leaves. Didn't have the can of chicken broth, threw in 2 chicken boullion cubes. Also added chunks of leftover sirloin tip roast. Will add an extra cup of water or will get a can of broth for next time. Enough left over for my husband and I for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
My family loved this, I put in more barely 1 cup. I also added zucchini, dried basil. I served it with home made pizza bread. Super yummy! we'll cook it again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peppermintkathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. And very easy. The only addition I make is some chop suey meat that I add, already cooked, about 10 minutes before the soup is done. My 9 year old daughter constantly requests this soup. I make this almost weekly during the winter months. Thanks for a tasty and healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Very healthy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This soup was very hearty and filling but it was nothing special. It seemed like it was the "Zero Point" Weight Watchers soup with barley added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Absolutely delicious. I did add a little more barley after reading some reviews and also a zucchini plus some cabbage. I had some homemade vegetable stock, so I used that instead of the water. We live in Norther Ontario and this is a wonderful, tasty soup is great in this really cold weather. Thanks so much Nancy for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freelton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Yummy soup! I used all broth instead of water, and I used one cup of barley. I also zapped the carrots in the microwave for a couple of minutes before adding them, to shorten the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skiski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Good and healthy. Put it together for a Girls Night Out (everyhone was on special diets, and this looked pretty safe). Went together quickly and everyone liked it. Used about 5 cloves of garlic (I had help and wasn't watching). I think most people liked the extra garlic. Otherwise, made it to the instructions (very rare for me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This soup was wonderful and the entire house smelled delicious. I ommitted the chicken stock, didn't saute the veggies - personal preference - and I upped the spices & barley for more flavor. In addition to the ingredients, I also added cabbage and about 20 minutes before it was fully cooked I added zucchini and squash. Great for a chilly day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States