Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Very easy! It tastes really good for such a simple ingredient list. I used all fresh tomatoes and vegetarian broth then added a pinch of salt and more pepper. It's filling comfort food, but also very light. Next time I will probably put the tomatoes through the blender before I cook them because I like a slightly thicker broth. Will make again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I love it! The barley gives it such a great texture, and all the veges make it so hearty. I didn't have any fresh tomatoes, so I just used an extra can of diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I really loved this soup! I didn't add tomatoes but only the canned. I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Hawkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This soup was really awesome however I did add some sea salt. Going to try adding chicken and perhaps a different spin using beef broth and beef stew meat and see how it turns out! Quick and easy preparation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
My roommates & I loved it. Perfect for a rainy day after buying produce at farmer's market. I also added a tsp. of dried thyme to go with the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Made it as described except I didnt have any chicken broth so I just added extra water and bouillon to make my own. It was wonderfull and my oldest son who hates soup loved this one! Thanks for a wonderfull recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Great just like it is!!! Comfort food! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Amazing soup! I used 3 cups chicken broth, added some fresh spinach I had on hand, a dash of basil and a bay leaf. I pureed a quarter of the soup before adding in about 3 cups cooked pearl barley I had left over from the night before. I appreciate that I could mess with the recipe and it still turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Fantastic! Nutrient dense,low-fat,high fiber and delicious all in one pot! I followed the recipe except I used vegetable stock instead of chicken broth and I added extra barley (about 2/3 cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States