Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I hate to give this recipe such a low rating because it is a good BASE. However, it had NO FLAVOR! I think if you added some spicy ground sausage and maybe used flavored diced tomatoes, it could be much better but as is, it was bland city.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hutto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I cannot even count the times that I have made this soup! My husband and I, in West Central Florida, look so forward to winter and soup weather in particular because of this recipe. It has gotten to the point that I don't even need to reference the recipe any longer because I have made it so many times. That being said, I do have to say that I add more barley than called for because husband is a confirmed "stewp" guy, so a little thicker towards the stew end of the spectrum is how he likes it! A really easy switch-up, along the line of Nancy's cabbage suggestion, is to add chopped kale when the soup is ready to serve. Just grab a bag of the prepped stuff in the produce aisle and add as much as you like. Give it a quick stir, and if you like your greens with some "tooth" left to them you are ready to go. Otherwise, you can let them soften up as much as you like which takes practically no time at all. For just a little chopping, it is soooo darn good and warms you right through. SUPERB as a "planned over" too -- nothing quite like soup the second day. On many occasions I have gotten out the BIG soup pot and made a double batch just to have a stash in the freezer. Such a great timesaver when needing something good and satisfying after a day that has left you with no desire to cook. Grab from the freeze and pop it in the microwave while you change outta the day and decompress for a little bit. I know what is on the menu tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Excellent and followed previous review to add basil, parsley and tomatoe paste, which makes it much better, or otherwise its bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Loved this!! I doubled the recipe; used homemade chicken broth and homemade stewed tomatoes; also added some thin sliced cabbage as the submitter suggested. It was even better the next day. Took some for lunch and froze some for a quick week night meal later. I will add extra barley next time as some reviewers noted. Thank you for posting a wonderful soup, Nancy Olsen. This one is a keeper for sure !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I used homemade chicken broth rather than the canned and water, and added mixed vegetables and cut up leftover chicken. Also used about 1.5 cups of leftover rice and lentil blend (Trader Joe's) rather than the barley. It made a warm, hearty supper for a cool fall evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Really like this recipe. Use my stick immersion blender to puree half of the soup then add it back to the broth/chunky veggies. Even better when you throw in a little sachet of jamon bouillon and some diced ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Throw in some white beans, too! Such a delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Made it exactly according to the recipe with the exception of the addition of more barley. Love how simple this is to prepare and wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Excellent will be making this alot. i did puree half of the soup for smoother texture. Added fresh basil/oregano and sea salt next time may add cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Not saying it is best practices but pulled this off with some frozen veggies, a little Penzy's Forward, and it was still fantastic. A good staple recipie to modify and make your own. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States