Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Yummy! I added fresh basil and pinto beans. It ended up tasting sort of like a Tuscan bean soup. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEZIREE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimberly Erin
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This was so wonderful. Follow the recipe and you'll have no problems. My boyfriend cooked this for me when I was overwhelmed with homework one night but really wanted to have this soup with him. He doesn't cook often, but he had no problem mastering this recipe. I was so proud of him!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Erin
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
After a few minor alterations I would definitely give this a "5" as it is a quick soup to make that is not too heavy, yet hearty. Basically, since I did not have two fresh tomatoes, I used a second can of diced tomatoes. After the soup simmered a bit, I added salt to taste and some dried basil to taste (probably 1/2 tsp to 1 tsp) to give it a little more flavor and "zip". Sprinkling some grated Parmesan cheese on the individual servings also gave it some extra flavor. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I really liked the final outcome of this soup, but I will admit, I did make a lot of changes based on some others' suggestions. I added 2/3 c. Pace mild salsa with the tomatoes. I used three 14 oz. cans of beef broth in place of the water and chicken broth. I also added a bit of cumin and about 1/2 tsp. chili powder. Next time I think I will also add some beef. This was very healthy, very tasty, very easy and froze wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Needs spices. Next time will make with some of the suggestions of the other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffin Mans wife
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
It tastes good but needs a little somthing. Mine didn't turn out looking like the picture...the broth was thick and rich looking in the picture and mine came out close to clear. I will doctor with some tomato sauce to give it a richer taste. I will also add a little lime juice and cilantro to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mans wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Delicious and versatile. Didn't have fresh tomatoes or celery on hand, so used a can of condensed tomato soup, and added fresh spinach and thawed frozen french green beans cut into 1-inch pieces. Followed other suggestions and beefed up the spices (I used fresh parsley & dried basil). Topped with grated parmesan. Tastes like a tomato-y minestrone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I'm a "guy cook" who just took up cooking for the fun of it. I love this recipe exactly as written because it is so healthy ... especially when you use vegetable broth. Without really changing the recipe as written, I used a can of Rotel diced tomatoes and green chilis as part of the canned diced tomatoes. It added just the right amount of ZIP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bellmore, New York, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Great soup made exactly as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I add mushrooms to the soup. Adds more texture and flavour. Aggie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States