Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I thought this soup was great. I would just like to recommend that when simmering leave it covered. I had to add more broth due to evaporation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This recipe lacked flavor. I was disappointed because of all the rave reviews. I wanted a smooth texture so I put the tomatoes, celery, and onion through a food processor but I don't feel that would have made a difference. I also realize the soup would be better if it were made in the summer. I added V-8 juice and some basil to spice it up. It also needed salt. It was much better that way. However, when I served it for dinner both my husband and I had to throw it away. Bummer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This soup was really easy to make. I liked the taste, but I enjoy very simple flavors. My husband and brother in-law both added hot sauce to the soup because they found the flavor a little dull. I think the soup needs some more spices... right now all of the flavor comes from the tomatoes and the pepper. Also I found the soup needed some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sruddach
Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I am a tomato soup snob, I could eat it for breakfast, lunch and dinner. This soup is incredibly good, I am so thrilled to have found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Excellent! I used a 1/2 cup of barley, a chopped potato, a can of drained chickpeas and a dash or two of oregano, thyme and corriander. My guests raved about it! Perfect on this cold winter day! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
A nutritious soup, but needs a little help: maybe some sauteed ham as a first ingredient and a can of kidney beans or garbanzo beans. A dollop of pesto on top. Or serve with crusty baguette smeared with goat cheese. Something. Otherwise, just another healthy soup, forgettable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
The flavor of the broth in this recipe is amazing! My only complaint is that for a tomato barley soup, it did not have much barley. I doubled the barley called for in the recipe, and I still feel like it was a little light. I also added some browned hamburger to make it a heartier meal soup. Honestly though, I think the meat took away from the flavor of the soup. Next time I think I will just serve it as a side soup, and forego the meat. Oh, also added some fresh basil in the last 5 min of cooking because basil and tomatoes go so well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Socorro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Great healthy satisfying soup! I used 1/2 c barley, added 1 tsp basil, used all chicken broth, 1 small can tomato sauce, and 2 cans diced tomatoes (didn't have fresh), and it was delicious! I also cooked it 45 minutes with the lid off of the pot, and it thickened up nicely to a stew-like consistency. I will definitely be making this again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Yummy! I added fresh basil and pinto beans. It ended up tasting sort of like a Tuscan bean soup. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEZIREE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States