Tomato and Mozzarella Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Sooo goooood!! I literally JUST posted this recipe on here as well after finding a similar one a different site. I brought these last night to a picnic and they were a hit! There were none left and I made about 50 of them! I bought everything from Trader Joes-a pack of basil, sweet cherry tomatoes, and mozzarella balls that came in a container with an olive oil/herb marinade. I assembled these like this picture and since the balls were already in a marinade I just spooned a tiny bit of the marinade left in the container over the entire plate! Then I sprinkled a tiny bit of salt and cracked pepper. Also, I used the rest of the basil to cover the plate before arranging these. It's a beautiful presentation! A must have for parties, picnics, wherever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I used Ciliegine Mozzarella (the smallest fresh mozzarella balls) but I wish I had been more concerned w/ the quality of the mozzarella instead of the size. The brand I chose was completely flavorless. I can halve a bigger ball but it's hard to add flavor to flavorless mozzarella. ;o) Like so many reviewers, I used the vinegar & oil as a marinade instead of as a dip. Don't skimp on the salt! I think next time I'll either put a little bowl of salt out, to roll the tomatoes in or I'll serve the bites on a bed of kosher salt. Great appetizer for a fettucine alfredo dinner...thanks! SiNsGirl's pic is superb so I saved myself the embarassment of posting a pic. LOL Great job, SiNsGirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
If you only use 1/2 grape tomato, basil leaf, & 1/2 mozzarella ball on a toothpick, you have a 1 bite snack! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I use grape tomatoes and mozzarella balls approximately the same size and cut both in half,placing them on a toothpick starting with 1/2 tomato,piece of basil,mozzarella,basil and tomato,place them on serving dish....then I make an olive tapenade and drizzle that over the tomato, mozzarella bites.....delicious!tapenade recipe is as follows:1/4 cup chopped pitted kalmata olives, 1/2 cup xtra v. OO, 1/4 tsp minced garlic, 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper, pinch dried oregano..mix all in a mini blender and pulse until blended..drizzle over tomato bites....now it is a 5 star!! this tapenade freezes well for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I served these at an appetizer party and everyone thought they were really cute and tasty. Instead of using the balsamic vinegar as a dip, I drizzled it on top of the bites with some zesty italian dressing and dried herbs. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I, too, used the oil and vinegar as a marinade and found these to be a very easy, tasty appetizer. Since I don't like salty food, I orginally didn't add much salt, but upped the amount after reading the review by IMVINTAGE. It made a huge difference in the flavor. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Very easy to make, I had my daughter put them together. I did purchase the fresh mozzarella in the dairy section and cut it into 1/2 in cubes, the fresh mozzarella mini balls were a little pricey. I also just purchased a bottle balsalmic vinagrette and marinated the bites in that. Tasted like bruchetta without the bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POOKY1969

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Peekskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Koriekiss
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was really good! I used the marinated braid from Trader Joes, just unbraided it and cut in chunks. It made about 40 of them. I poured the whole thing of evoo and balsomic vinegar over the top and just poured it off before I plated it (30min later), next time I think I will make far less of it and drizzle it over them after I plate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
These rocked!! Everyone at the bbq that I took it to LOVED it, AND requested it. Thank you to all who suggested the marinated mozzarella from Trader Joes - yum! This hands down will become one of my must have favorites. Thanks for a yummy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thrasher'swife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
I've taken this to three functions in the past month and each time it is a huge hit! Fresh ingredients are a must, no substitutions. People are astonished at how easy this is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States