Tomato and Bread Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I have been making this soup for a few year - it is wonderful! I don't even mess with the recipe, except to add salt and pepper. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This is a really nice base. I felt like it was missing something for a full meal, so I added two and a half sweet Italian chicken sausages, and it was a nice weekday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Frankly, I love this recipe. I’m not exactly a cook let alone a “chef” so anytime I can find something that is easy, but unique and flavorful it’s exciting. I had a left over Italian baguette which I hated throwing out and found this recipe. Mostly, I followed it to the letter except added extra tomato, broth, cheese and basil. I copied someone’s else’s suggestion to use a combo of cheese so I added Romano and Parmesan. This is really good. It’s best if you steep it longer and to let all of the flavors combine thoroughly. For any of you at the novice cook level – go ahead and try it you will be pleased
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
this was good, I used fresh tomatoes out of the garden and added chicken soup base instead of the broth will make this again thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This was so good. I followed the recipe exactly and I loved it. Next time I will try this soup without the bread and add chicken and pasta instead. This soup is a great base to try other things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I just made this and had to come back to review. A+ for quick and delish! So easy. I didn't have any fresh garlic and it was fine without. Did a 4 c of water instead of 6 of veggie broth to have a bit more tomato flavor based on our preference. Veggie broth as we are meatless here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I thought this was very very tasty and if you're looking for a tomato soup without added sugar and cream this is perfect! I only gave it four stars because the bread came out very very soggy and very dumpling-ish. I like the idea of serving the toasted bread on top after the soup is done. The olive oil toasted bread cubes are so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I made this soup yesterday using basil right out of my garden - kept having to add more and more since I didn't measure well. And I used dried parsley and no cheese. The bread was only partially stale - with some soft pieces. This is a wonderful soup if you chop the bread small enough. My wife said they were like dumplings - will dice smaller next time. And I will be using this for our Soup Kitchen for the needy with sausage or other meat. Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I love this soup as a base. You can create many more flavorful soups out of it. I, personally, do not like mushy bread so I omit the bread in the soup. Instead, I get a nice loaf of italian or french bread and slice it up, put butter and parmesan cheese on it and toast it. I use beef broth in place of the chicken broth and I also add two cans of fire roaasted tomatoes. I cook some elbow pasta and add that to my soup. I then top it all off in the bowl with the parmesan cheese and serve it with the toasted bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia Yankee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Jersey, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Sooo easy and delicious!! I used dried herbs and it still came out wonderful...You could easily make this heartier by adding in some italian sausage or ground turkey..I topped with fresh parsley and parmesan..Thanks for the recipe =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States