Tomato and Basil Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I personally could not get enough of this, but I did change the recipe some. I used fresh basil, and removed the goo from the center of the tomatoes so it wouldn't be as watery. It was super yummy! I think next time I'll try some sun dried tomatoes instead of fresh to mix it up a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Really, really good - but the tomatoes were too heavy with breadcrumbs -- use less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
UBER YUMMY!! The floured, fried tomatoes were so good, I could have eaten a plate of them straight. However, once they're baked into the quiche, it's dubious how necessary the frying step is. By the time they're cooked in the quiche, their light, crispy exteriors have dissipated. So the time and mess used to fry them doesn't serve much useful purpose. To eliminate that step, simply place the peeled, sliced tomatoes on paper towels, sprinkle lightly with salt on both sides, then allow to sit undisturbed for at least 20 minutes to draw out the excess moisture, sprinkle liberally with basil, then add to the quiche as directed. Carmelizing the onions (sauteeing until a deep, golden color) eliminates the sharp, in-your-face taste that can overwhelm the delicate flavor of the tomatoes, and tames it down to make it a delectable "team player." You can vary the flavor of this quiche simply by using any cheeses, in any combination, that you happen to like. I used brie with rinds removed, Jarlsberg and Asiago. The flavor was sensational. Even using only skim milk, the taste was sumptuous, the texture ethereal. Most excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This turned out wonderful. I added a couple extra things: turkey bacon, I crumbled 3 strips, and added a handful of sauted mushrooms. One other changed, just because of personal preference I used only used a half onion. As others noted I needed an extra 10 minutes of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Having never made a quiche before, I found this recipe to be easy and delicious. I added salad shrimp. I did have to cook this a lot longer then the recipe called for, but that could be my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This was pretty good, though for me, it was lacking a little something. I will admit that I changed the recipe a little: I chopped everything up and mixed it all together like I do with every quiche. But the ingredients were all the same and it just lacked a little. I may try again with mushrooms or bacon added in. But otherwise pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cara
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Very good quiche and pretty easy too. I too used fresh basil like others have and also added cubed pieces of roasted chicken which was good. Searing the tomatoes with flour and basil was something fun i've never had the chance to do before. This dish could easily work for breakfast, lunch, or supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I grew my own tomatos and basil specificly to make this dish because I loved it so much. Easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I love this dish. I'm a big fan of quiches/savoury pies that consist of throwing together by eye some vegetables, egg, milk, and cheese, so I wasn't sure if the extra steps would be worth it. Lo and behold, they totally were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
A little bland, but a good basic recipe. Will change the seasoning, perhaps the cheese to gruyere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States