Tomato and Basil Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I was really expecting something fabulous, but it tasted like a basic omelet on a crust. I did use fresh basil and added 2 eggs and 1/4 cup of milk to cover ingredients. Overall, it just needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lzhuber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeene, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
AMAZING! I am usually one to make a lot of changes to recipes. This one, I only made a few minor changes, but they weren't even necessary. I didn' peel the tomatoes & I added about 10 chopped sun dried tomatoes too. Otherwise, I made as is and myself and my boyfriend couldn't get enough! If I had fresh basil, that would probably be a good change too! Easy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Wow, this was so good. My fiance loved it too. I had to cook it longer than the recipe called for, and I chopped the tomatoes instead of slicing them. I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
this is the first quiche i've ever made and its really great. used fresh basil and a blend of different cheeses (because i didnt have dried basil or jack cheese). it is really fantastic. i can't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megbut

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hanson, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Yum! I made some changes but used all the same ingredients. Chopped the onions instead of slicing them and skipped frying the tomatoes at the suggestion of another reviewer. The combination of flavors was perfect. This is my new favorite quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notoriousJEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I really loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was easy and turned out looking just great! I did follow advice of others and used more olive oil. Thanks for the recipe definately a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I was asked to make a quiche for a co-workers birthday breakfast. One requirement - I had to make sure the quiche was meat-less (lots of vegetarians at my work). Having never actually made a quiche before, I searched through the All-recipes database. And this Tomato/Basil Quiche did not disappoint. I did adjust the recipe somewhat...I used fresh and dried basil, half-n-half, and added another egg. I also used freshly grated parmesan and a blend of cheddar and colby and mixed that in with the egg/cream batter before pouring into the pieshell. I also chopped the onions as suggested and used Roma tomatoes so that they were firm enough to handle the frying. I think next time I would probably use a little less onion and would cut the tomatoes a bit thin. I also don't know if I would do the flouring of the tomatoes. It just seemed like an extra step that could be removed if you are crunched for time. Just mix the basil in with the eggs and cheese and you'll be good to go. Also - I have an old gas stove so I cooked at 400 for 10 mins and 30 at 350. Came out perfect and tasted so delicious reheated the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefNouveau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This was SO good! I made it with canned diced tomatoes (skipped the frying step), mixed the flour in with the cheese (so it wouldn't clump), diced the onion and added garlic to the saute, then mixed it all with the egg mmixture before putting in pie shells. It was so easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I personally could not get enough of this, but I did change the recipe some. I used fresh basil, and removed the goo from the center of the tomatoes so it wouldn't be as watery. It was super yummy! I think next time I'll try some sun dried tomatoes instead of fresh to mix it up a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States