Tomato and Basil Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Delicious! This was a huge hit at our Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alvin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mjhutch
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Absolutely delicious! I used cheddar cheese and added Romano Cheese to the top. I will be making this again for Easter brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjhutch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Photo by ANINAM
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
My family loved this quiche! I made a couple of changes because I had leftovers I wanted to use: 1/2 c chopped fresh basil leaves in place of dry basil, 1 can of whole tomatoes, drained and sliced(although I would use fresh next time), 1 link turkey italian sausage, casing removed and browned, and shredded Mexican cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sammamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Very good - not suprisingly - I made minor/major changes. Sliced SUNDRIED tomatoes instead of fresh (eliminated the flour), chopped two cups of fresh spinach in place of basil. Needed to cook an extra 10minutes. Also used LACTAID milk for the intollerant among us. Very flavorful - LOVED IT. Had it for breakfast and again at lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superstepmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I absolutely love quiche, but This is the first time I made it. This recipe is great! I will definitely make again. I added spinach and a little more cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This was a big hit at my Mom's birthday party! I used frozen deep dish pie crust, cooked for 10 minutes before filling as directed. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by longtab
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Just made the quiche tonight... awesome. My wife said she like it, well I loved it... but I maybe biased. Instead of flour I used Italian bread crumbs we had in the cupboard; instead of dried basil I used fresh basil as suggested by others; and as usual I used half-n-half instead of milk. I would like to experiment with laying the last half of cheese and then topping it all off with the egg mixture or maybe putting the cheese in the egg mixture before transfering to the pie. I've never liked a cheese quiche's 'cheese layer'... I prefer quiche a tad more lorraine-ish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by longtab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Excellent. I diced the onions, and added whatever cheese I had. Probably will turn out well no matter what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
It was divine and easy to make. The changes I made were as follow: I used half skim milk and half heavy cream, added mushrooms to the onion and sauteed them together, then sprinkled the flour over the tomatoes and basil, and sauteed THEM with the onions and mushrooms. The smell was luscious and I added a dash more olive oil to make up for the flour drying out the pan. I used a mixture of sharp cheddar and parmegiano-reggiano and used it sparingly on the bottom and top of the quiche. It smelled wonderful while baking and came out terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Drooool! This was divine. I took the suggestions of other users: Tomatoes, diced, not peeled, and with the seeds & juicy parts removed; onions minced; basil fresh; heavy cream instead of milk. I didn't bother with flour at all, and I used medium cheddar for the cheese, because that's what I had. The cooking time in the recipe was perfect for me. I let the quiche sit 15-20 minutes before slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STONESOUP

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 111-120 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States