Tomato and Basil Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I loved this quiche. I made a few changes I sprinkled tomatos with Ital. Bread crumbs instead of flour and added freshly grated parmesean in place of the Colby. I had no onions on hand but it still came out wonderful. I used the butter pie crust on this site and it made a delicious dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
Delicious! I used some sliced green onions and did not need to saute them. My tomatoes were so ripe that I could not keep them in nice slices - they broke apart, but still so good. I made it crustless. I mixed the onions, cheese (Port du Salut and monterey jack), eggs, and fresh basil all together, then I layered the egg mixture alternatively with my tomato pieces. Had to use cream instead of milk. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This is a great recipe. Can substitute any type of chesse you like. Better with fresh basil and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This quiche was okay, but a little strange with the flour on the tomatoes. I probably would leave that off next time if I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Not very good. It was pretty, and edible, but mostly just tasted like basil and it was really runny (even though I de-seeded the tomatoes). Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Very good!! I made just a few changes to decrease fat/calories. I used egg substitute, fat free milk, and reduced fat cheddar cheese. I also added fresh basil and did not take off the skin from the tomatoes to save time. Everyting turned out great and even my 6 year old was saying how much he liked this meal. This will become a favorite of mine! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
The quiche turned out lovely. It looks beautiful, and smells and tastes delcious. If your not a big basil fan you may not like this dish... but myself and my family loved it. Very simple, for such an elegant dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This was easy, but for some reason I doidn't find it had a whole lot of flavour. Perhaps I should make it again win the height of tomato season, where they will be the most flavourfull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I was suprised at how good this was! Only used about 1/2 of the onion and 1 tomato and it was plenty. Added deli ham pieces on top of veggies-super yummy and very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I soaked about 6 or 7 sun-dried tomatoes in boiled water for about 20 - 25 minutes, in place of the fresh tomatoes. Chopped them up and added the flour and basil (only 1 teaspoon of basil next time. Found the basil flavour a bit too strong) and sauteed them with the onions for a couple minutes. As well, I chopped up about 3/4 cup of broccoli to saute with the onions. I also replaced the Jack cheese with old cheddar, as I like a stronger cheese flavour. This was soooooooooo delicious. Extremely flavourful and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States