Tomato and Basil Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Everyone loved it when I made it but I think that using an electric mixer makes it better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I love this recipe! I have made it for church potlucks and never bring any home. :) Although, I do have to say I never peeled or chopped the tomatoes. I bought a small can (10 oz) of diced tomatoes. Sometimes I get the ones with the flavoring already on them. Also, I have added sausage to the recipe. That adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
YUM YUM YUM!!! I tried this the other night for my family and we thought it was delicious! I added alittle nutmeg as others have suggested and it added a little uniqueness to it. Next time I plan on trying it the way others have suggested it to see which way is better...but honestly this came out perfectly! Thank you!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melaney*Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
DELICIOUS!! My husband was less than excited about this meal when I told him what I was making but ended up going back for seconds, and even thirds!!!I also used the Italian bread crumbs on the tomatoes and added broccoli as well... sauteed with the onions and only 1tsp of basil instead of two. This was SO easy to prepare. Very excited to make again, it will be a regular dish in our rotation for sure!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Our second recipe for "Meatless Mondays" and to my surprise the hubby liked it as did I, the daughter wasn't to crazy for it though. I carmelized the onions and also used seasoned bread crumbs on the tomatoes instead of flour as suggested by other reviewers, I don't know if I would coat the tomatoes with anything next time. I did have to bake it a little longer than suggested. Served it with a salad, dinners done! This ones a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POOKY1969

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Peekskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Fantastic!! Family loved this one....I followed other reviewers and sauteed the onion and a large clove of minced garlic in evoo, then added 5 small diced tomatoes(took out the juice and seeds), and added some Italian bread crumbs instead of the flour. I added 1c. fat free half and half to the 3 eggs, salt/pepper, some grated pecorino romano cheese, fresh chopped basil, and an Italian 3 cheese blend, added the tomato mixture and just poured the whole thing in the pie shell. It was so yummy. Will make again and maybe add some zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
This was a wonderful recipe on its own, but I did make some modifications. First because of our abundant tomato harvest this summer, I used 5 small tomatoes instead of 2 as called for in the recipe. I also took the advice of previous reviewers and coated the tomatoes with bread crumbs instead of flour. To vary the veggies up, I added about 1 cup of chopped kale, 1/2 cup of chopped mushrooms and 1/2 cup of chopped celery, and sauteed them together with the onions in olive oil (I also added about 1 tbsp of garlic for flavor). My kitchen smelled fantastic! I used Kraft Five Cheeses blend (provolone, mozzarella, asiago, parmesan and romano) instead of Colby Jack. This was simply delicious and a real treat for our supper tonight. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: La Grange Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
This was awesome! My Mom and fiance loved it too. I diced the tomatoes and tossed them with breadcrumbs. It was so flavor full. I had to cook it a little longer than the directions said though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Estero, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Didn't have basil so I used oregano. Also added a little mozzarella and Trader Joe's chicken sausage. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
This was fantastic!!! I changed it slightly based on other people's suggestions. I only used 1 tomato (seeded but not peeled) and about 4-5 sundried tomato halves in oil. I chopped those up and tossed with the flour and basil. I only used ONE teaspoon of basil. I think that made a difference. I used the No Roll Pie Crust II (which I DID bake beforehand). I only had 2 eggs, so I added a bit more milk (3%) to compensate. The recipe turned out great!!! Next time I may double it (maybe not all the cheese) and go crustless. I HIGHLY recommend this recipe with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States