Tomato and Basil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I just made this and it was amazing! I only prepared for 2 servings, and kept all of the ingredients in the same proportions, only with 3 differences: -added 3/4oz cream cheese during simmer -substituted white vinegar for balsamic -used crush basil during simmer, topping with fresh basil upon serving RIDICULOUSLY TASTY, and very simple too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Excellent sauce... I used fresh tomatoes (8 romas) as I avoid all canned goods due to high sodium counts. I doubled the red pepper flakes and halved the sugar but left the rest the way as stated. Once done cooking and before adding the basil, I used my immersion blender to thicken it up with the chopped tomatoes/onions. Excellent served over any pasta. Have made this once already and forgot to review :) Good stuff! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Good, fresh recipe. Make sure you use good quality balsamic vinegar. If you do not have fresh basil, add dried basil when the tomatoes and other ingredients are added. Bring to a boil, cover and reduce heat. Allow to simmer for at least an hour for full flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
The best tomato sauce we've had, including any from a restaurant (and dare I say even better than dishes we had in Italy). Made a couple tweaks: used fresh tomatoes (roughly about 7-8 tomatoes), used a couple extra tablespoons good extra virgin olive oil and a little more balsamic (roughly 1-1.5 tablespoons, instead of teaspoons), and did not use any sugar (it was sweet enough from the tomatoes and balsamic). I also used 1 extra clove of garlic. We left the red pepper flakes out, and each person could add to their own dish. It was absolutely fabulous, and this will forever be my go-to red sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Wow just made this is so easy and so tasty. Would recommend to try. Also think would be nice with some mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was great. Increased the garlic, pureed the canned tomatoes, used only 1/2 tsp of sugar, as I don't care for sweet tasting sauce, and pinch of red pepper flakes. The fresh basil at the end really pulls it all together. Used it with "Hearty vegetable Lasagna" recipe on this site. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Thank you for the great recipe, Carolyn. I did not change a thing. We loved the zing of the red pepper flakes - even the five year old had seconds. It's a great way to use some of the basil rolling in from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Very easy and tasty. I'll probably be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I made this sauce mostly according to the directions. I did puree the onions and canned tomatoes (I don't care for chunky sauce). I substitued 1 cube of frozen chopped basil (from Trader Joe's) for the fresh basil. It was ok - fresher tasting than using canned tomato sauce. However, it was too sweet. My family commented it was too sweet also. I would cut the sugar in half, maybe less. If you want some zip to it, you might want to use more red pepper flakes, as I didn't taste any spiciness at all. I'm still looking for that perfect light tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Flavor was great - although I'd put in even MORE basil, let it simmer, let it SIMMER! And I'd puree it too - always better pureed! Thanks for the delicious recipe - this recipe has convinced me, you can use canned tomatoes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trey's Mumma

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States