Tomato and Basil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This sauce is incredible! We made it as written and used extra hot red pepper flakes. The sauce is mildly spicy (a pleasant kick that would probably be less noticeable with a less potent pepper flake), chunky and packed with flavor. Of note, it is very important to add the basil just before serving; the freshness adds a lot to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Yum, this was delicious, full of flavor! Made with fresh tomates and used and used a stick blender to sllightly puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I have made this recipe as written and have used it as a launchpad for more elaborate sauces by adding assorted meats and veggies. In my opinion, tomatoes are the perfect natural food and this sauce highlights them perfectly. I offer my undying gratitude to you, Carolyn. This recipe is outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
The best tomato sauce we've had, including any from a restaurant (and dare I say even better than dishes we had in Italy). Made a couple tweaks: used fresh tomatoes (roughly about 7-8 tomatoes), used a couple extra tablespoons good extra virgin olive oil and a little more balsamic (roughly 1-1.5 tablespoons, instead of teaspoons), and did not use any sugar (it was sweet enough from the tomatoes and balsamic). I also used 1 extra clove of garlic. We left the red pepper flakes out, and each person could add to their own dish. It was absolutely fabulous, and this will forever be my go-to red sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This was very easy and tasty. I made this quick sauce to go over ravioli for a quick dinner for the nights that my kids have sports during the week. I will for sure make again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
WOW! This was so good!! Next time I'll cut back on the red pepper flakes... I put in too much. Made this from cherry tomatoes growing in my garden. Super good!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDSCULLY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
My husband, a bit of a finicky eater & accustomed to time intensive persian cooking, absolutely loved this sauce. He listed off all the things it would be delicious on. I'm making it again tonight because he keeps asking for it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
We are a gluten-, casein-, and soy-free household, and this recipe fits in perfectly! Love it! Made it exactly as written and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by McBacon
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This is very good! I added sweet Italian sausage to mine, so then added more of the seasonings, tomatoes and vinegar to make sure it was flavored enough. My whole family, including my 2 toddlers loved it! I did omit the red pepper flakes, but that is due to personal taste (too spicy for our tastes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
great recipe. simple enough that you can add different ingredients to make it your own. put some feta and diced long hots in it over the weekend and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States