Tomato and Basil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Flavor was great - although I'd put in even MORE basil, let it simmer, let it SIMMER! And I'd puree it too - always better pureed! Thanks for the delicious recipe - this recipe has convinced me, you can use canned tomatoes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trey's Mumma

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Very good tomato sauce that shows off the flavour of tomato. I doubled the recipe and used San Marzano tomatoes for authentic flavour. There isn't a lot of liquid in San Marzanos so the sauce is thick enough without adding tomato paste. Also used dried basil and added at the beginning along with adding one extra tbsp of balsamic to the doubled recipe. A solid "go-to" tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Quick and easy sauce for those nights I don't really feel like cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was great. Increased the garlic, pureed the canned tomatoes, used only 1/2 tsp of sugar, as I don't care for sweet tasting sauce, and pinch of red pepper flakes. The fresh basil at the end really pulls it all together. Used it with "Hearty vegetable Lasagna" recipe on this site. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I've always made a tomato basil sauce similar. I used to add onion until the owner of a great Italian said not to. I always sieve my tomatoes for a smooth sauce. I don't normally add the vinegar. I add the fresh basil on each dish separately. For a meat sauce, I would add the onion, sauté some ground sirloin (or make meatballs) and a couple links of Italian sausage cut into pieces in the beginning and cook longer. I usually cook my tomato longer, too. Sometimes, add a pinch of baking soda to reduce the acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Followed this recipe exactly and doubled the batch. It was amazing!! So tasty and the perfect consistency! I made lasagna spinach rolls and placed them in this sauce. It was a big hit with the family. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This sauce is incredible! We made it as written and used extra hot red pepper flakes. The sauce is mildly spicy (a pleasant kick that would probably be less noticeable with a less potent pepper flake), chunky and packed with flavor. Of note, it is very important to add the basil just before serving; the freshness adds a lot to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Yum, this was delicious, full of flavor! Made with fresh tomates and used and used a stick blender to sllightly puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I have made this recipe as written and have used it as a launchpad for more elaborate sauces by adding assorted meats and veggies. In my opinion, tomatoes are the perfect natural food and this sauce highlights them perfectly. I offer my undying gratitude to you, Carolyn. This recipe is outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
The best tomato sauce we've had, including any from a restaurant (and dare I say even better than dishes we had in Italy). Made a couple tweaks: used fresh tomatoes (roughly about 7-8 tomatoes), used a couple extra tablespoons good extra virgin olive oil and a little more balsamic (roughly 1-1.5 tablespoons, instead of teaspoons), and did not use any sugar (it was sweet enough from the tomatoes and balsamic). I also used 1 extra clove of garlic. We left the red pepper flakes out, and each person could add to their own dish. It was absolutely fabulous, and this will forever be my go-to red sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States