Tomato and Basil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This was a yummy recipe - next time we will omit the red pepper flake as we didn't really care for the added heat, but otherwise a nice sauce. I threw everything in the crockpot and it turned out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I have used allrecipes.com for years, but haven't reviewed a recipe until now. I just had to let others know how yummy this sauce is. I went out to the garden to do this recipe so there were some adjustments. I picked fresh tomatoes, basil and one fresno pepper. I used a good quality olive oil and cut back on the sugar. Nothing but yummy! Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Good, but a bit too thin. I added some parmesan cheese and heated up a bit to add some thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Flavor was great - although I'd put in even MORE basil, let it simmer, let it SIMMER! And I'd puree it too - always better pureed! Thanks for the delicious recipe - this recipe has convinced me, you can use canned tomatoes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trey's Mumma

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Very good tomato sauce that shows off the flavour of tomato. I doubled the recipe and used San Marzano tomatoes for authentic flavour. There isn't a lot of liquid in San Marzanos so the sauce is thick enough without adding tomato paste. Also used dried basil and added at the beginning along with adding one extra tbsp of balsamic to the doubled recipe. A solid "go-to" tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Quick and easy sauce for those nights I don't really feel like cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was great. Increased the garlic, pureed the canned tomatoes, used only 1/2 tsp of sugar, as I don't care for sweet tasting sauce, and pinch of red pepper flakes. The fresh basil at the end really pulls it all together. Used it with "Hearty vegetable Lasagna" recipe on this site. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I've always made a tomato basil sauce similar. I used to add onion until the owner of a great Italian said not to. I always sieve my tomatoes for a smooth sauce. I don't normally add the vinegar. I add the fresh basil on each dish separately. For a meat sauce, I would add the onion, sauté some ground sirloin (or make meatballs) and a couple links of Italian sausage cut into pieces in the beginning and cook longer. I usually cook my tomato longer, too. Sometimes, add a pinch of baking soda to reduce the acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Followed this recipe exactly and doubled the batch. It was amazing!! So tasty and the perfect consistency! I made lasagna spinach rolls and placed them in this sauce. It was a big hit with the family. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This sauce is incredible! We made it as written and used extra hot red pepper flakes. The sauce is mildly spicy (a pleasant kick that would probably be less noticeable with a less potent pepper flake), chunky and packed with flavor. Of note, it is very important to add the basil just before serving; the freshness adds a lot to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States