Tomato and Basil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I added a red pepper because I had one that needed to be used asap. I roasted the red pepper and garlic, otherwise the recipe was followed as instructed. I also blended everything in a blender because I prefer a thinner sauce for what I was using it for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
OH MY GOD... I will never look for a sauce recipe ever again... Did add a little blob of butter to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shumail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
The only problem is the sugar. It is not suppose to be a desert and we all know many chefs put it in many things. Sugar substitutes are out, of course. The vinegar is a must in most tomato sauces but for health reasons, leave out the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Loved this recipe! I omitted the sugar and vinegar, with amazing results. Four stars only because of the slight changes I made..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Made this twice as posted and canned it. It is delish! Passed the "kid taste test" from both the picky 9 year old and the "sometimes I don't like spaghetti" 13 year old. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Made it exactly as written, except I blended the sauce before adding the basil as I wanted a smooth sauce. Fabulous! I will certainly be sharing this recipe with others and making it often. Even my husband who loves meat in his pasta sauce thought this was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Ate this sauce tonight and it was excellent! We like extra garlic, so I used about 5 cloves instead of 2. I had no red pepper flakes (we don't like too spicy), but I just gave it a couple shakes of Tony Chachere's Creole seasoning. When it was nearly done, I tasted it and it was bland. So I then added a few pinches of fresh black pepper and 1/2 tablespoon of salt. That was just right. I reserved the fresh basil leaves for later - made sauce at mid-day, then reheated it to cook homemade meatballs in the evening. That's when I added the basil. The meatball recipe said add a little water as needed so your sauce doesn't dry out while you simmer the meatballs. I used water AFTER I used about a cup of white wine first. I'm sure that added a little flavor! The meatball recipe was from Fabio Viviano's book "Fabio's Italian Kitchen." They were excellent as well. Not sure if there is a similar recipe on this site, but I will check, and if not, I will try to add it later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Easy and soooo yummy! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This is my go-to pasta sauce recipe. The only thing I added, was mushrooms and a little extra garlic (big garlic lover here). Even without my minor changes, still 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Battle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Made this for dinner last night- it was amazing! Omitted the sugar, and doubled the red pepper flakes to add more of a kick, and it was perfect! I bought a jar of prego because my husband doesn't like vegetables AT ALL, but after I forced him to try this, he threw the prego away! I tossed whole wheat penne and spicy sausage with the sauce, and added a bit of fresh parmesan on top, and it was SO good. Will DEFINITELY be making this again soon, but next time I'll double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States