Tomato and Basil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Loved this recipe! I omitted the sugar and vinegar, with amazing results. Four stars only because of the slight changes I made..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Made this twice as posted and canned it. It is delish! Passed the "kid taste test" from both the picky 9 year old and the "sometimes I don't like spaghetti" 13 year old. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Made it exactly as written, except I blended the sauce before adding the basil as I wanted a smooth sauce. Fabulous! I will certainly be sharing this recipe with others and making it often. Even my husband who loves meat in his pasta sauce thought this was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Ate this sauce tonight and it was excellent! We like extra garlic, so I used about 5 cloves instead of 2. I had no red pepper flakes (we don't like too spicy), but I just gave it a couple shakes of Tony Chachere's Creole seasoning. When it was nearly done, I tasted it and it was bland. So I then added a few pinches of fresh black pepper and 1/2 tablespoon of salt. That was just right. I reserved the fresh basil leaves for later - made sauce at mid-day, then reheated it to cook homemade meatballs in the evening. That's when I added the basil. The meatball recipe said add a little water as needed so your sauce doesn't dry out while you simmer the meatballs. I used water AFTER I used about a cup of white wine first. I'm sure that added a little flavor! The meatball recipe was from Fabio Viviano's book "Fabio's Italian Kitchen." They were excellent as well. Not sure if there is a similar recipe on this site, but I will check, and if not, I will try to add it later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Easy and soooo yummy! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This is my go-to pasta sauce recipe. The only thing I added, was mushrooms and a little extra garlic (big garlic lover here). Even without my minor changes, still 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Battle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Made this for dinner last night- it was amazing! Omitted the sugar, and doubled the red pepper flakes to add more of a kick, and it was perfect! I bought a jar of prego because my husband doesn't like vegetables AT ALL, but after I forced him to try this, he threw the prego away! I tossed whole wheat penne and spicy sausage with the sauce, and added a bit of fresh parmesan on top, and it was SO good. Will DEFINITELY be making this again soon, but next time I'll double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Surprised how tasty this simple sauce was! The key difference from sauces I've made before was the balsamic vinegar so maybe that's the difference. Changes I made: didn't have fresh basil so substituted dry before simmering the sauce, didn't add sugar, added extra red pepper (we like it spicy) and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This was a yummy recipe - next time we will omit the red pepper flake as we didn't really care for the added heat, but otherwise a nice sauce. I threw everything in the crockpot and it turned out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I have used allrecipes.com for years, but haven't reviewed a recipe until now. I just had to let others know how yummy this sauce is. I went out to the garden to do this recipe so there were some adjustments. I picked fresh tomatoes, basil and one fresno pepper. I used a good quality olive oil and cut back on the sugar. Nothing but yummy! Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States