Tomato and Basil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I had 8 big beef tomatoes from my garden and decided to make baked ziti. I chopped the tomatoes and simmered it with the herbs in may garden thyme,basil,oregano, and rosemary. I did blended as well and added 6oz can of tomato paste to thicken it up. Haven't made fresh sauce in a while and this is delicious! This will make a great sauce for my baked ziti! Chill it up and you can have gazpacho by adding fresh diced green peppers and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran Janis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Family loves this. We omit the red pepper flakes sometimes, and I typically puree the sauce with the basil to add a pop. Reheats great if you freeze it for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight. It was simple and delicious. I used a 24 ounce can of crushed tomatoes because that is what I had and the sauce was plenty thick. I didn't have any balsamic, but I'm not sure if it made a difference or not. I also threw on some shredded Parmesan cheese right at the end. I served it with cheese tortellini. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This was really easy to make and very very good! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Very thin sauce and doesn't stick very well. Could use a bit more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Tiff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This is a very good recipe! This was my first attempt and I knocked the ball out of the park with this recipe. I added an extra box of Pomi Pomi strained tomatoes, and used a can of whole peeled tomatoes and a can of cut-up tomatoes. I used 5 cloves of sliced garlic and I added one extra tspn of sugar and balsamic - though the next time I will, as we like it a little less sweet. The next time the sugar will go in for 1 minute before I add the remaining ingredients - sans the basil of course. My wife really enjoyed it. We like very spicy marina, so I ramped up the amount of the red pepper flakes to 2 teaspoons. This gave the dish a nice low/back heat, though when I experiment the next and reduce the sugar and balsamic by 1/4, I will reduce the red peppers flakes to just 1 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I am eating this right now and it's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I added a red pepper because I had one that needed to be used asap. I roasted the red pepper and garlic, otherwise the recipe was followed as instructed. I also blended everything in a blender because I prefer a thinner sauce for what I was using it for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
OH MY GOD... I will never look for a sauce recipe ever again... Did add a little blob of butter to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shumail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
The only problem is the sugar. It is not suppose to be a desert and we all know many chefs put it in many things. Sugar substitutes are out, of course. The vinegar is a must in most tomato sauces but for health reasons, leave out the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States