Tomato and Bacon Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
YU-MMY! I used a white onion (blanched in salt water to cut the acidity) because that's what I had on hand, and only added 3/4 c. of sugar like another reviewer suggested and it came out great. I will try using a bit less sugar next time. Good stuff :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JimCooks
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Wow! Just wow! Such delicious depth of flavor and satisfaction. I went a little wild today at the farmers' market so needed some quick things to make with heirloom tomatoes. I made a half-recipe, reduced the sugar slightly (from the half Cup split), added about 1/2t of minced garlic and a shake or two of cayenne pepper. Now wish I'd doubled or tripled it! If nobody minds, I think I'll just eat it straight out of the jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Took it to a higher level. I julienned Bok Choy (Chinese cabbage) with leeks and carrots and tossed them with soy sauce. Using Egg Roll wraps, I smeared the tomato & bacon jam, topped this with the veg and after rolling the wraps, deep fried the Egg Rolls. I seved them on bed of Boston lettuce with slightly warmed Oyster sauce. Oooh soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
We had an a bunch of cherry tomatoes from the garden and I needed a new recipe to use them up. Found this, tried it, LOVE it! My husband and daughter were a little nervous because it's called a "jam" but thought it was delicious. Made it exactly as the recipe except reduced the bacon to 3 strips (that's what I had on hand). I would reduce the sugar a bit because of the sweeter tomatoes and would up the amount of bacon, but I will absolutely make this again. And again. Try it on toasted french bread with a smear of goat cheese topped with the jam. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Yum!!! This was easy to make and YUMMY!!! I cut the sugar back to 3/4 cup instead of 1 cup. It was just too sweet the first time. I am HOOKED on this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Falls City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Humphrey, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I am in love with this stuff! Have made this twice now, with excess tomatoes from mom's garden. First batch exactly as the recipes states (although doubled), 2nd batch using just half the sugar, as my tomatoes were very sweet. Love this stuff! I'm thinking of so many ways to use it - on hamburgers (great!), over cream cheese with crackers (yum!), by the spoonful (yep!). Next to try is on a cheese pannini, and add some horseradish to serve with shrimp cocktail....only negative I have is that my batches took almost 3 hours to cook down, but I was making double-batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This is AMAZING! My boyfriend and I loved this! After reading all the reviews, I went ahead and made the full batch and I'm so glad I did. As other reviewers suggested, I added a little liquid smoke and a dash of cumin since my bacon didn't have a smoked flavor. Mine cooked down in a little less than an hour, but all of the ingredients caramelized beautifully and blended so well. We did the taste test on crackers with cream cheese, but I also plan on topping off a bagel with it and possibly on some eggs. This really would be good on anything! I imagine it would compliment pork very well. The only I will do differently next time is cut back on the salt, but yes, there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Me and my oldest son were bored this evening so we decided to give this recipe a shot. I didn't have any fresh tomatoes so we used canned petite diced so we cut the recipe in half in case it didn't work with the canned variety. It did! We loved loved this its so good! We made bagel chips to eat with it very very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Delicious! I was looking for something to take to a party and stumbled upon this. it sounded so good, I made a double batch to make sure I'd have some leftover...and so glad I did because it was gone quickly at the party. I cut the salt back just a little (although I think it would have been fine at the suggested amount) and forgot to add the optional hot sauce. I simply served it with pieces of crusty bread and it was very yummy. The next day, I had some on a bagel with cream cheese and it was super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This is so good, I also made half just to give it a whirl and wish I made a full batch to freeze half but it is so easy to make, I will make again for sure. It will be a staple for a "win everyone over" appetizer with wine. I served it over toasted baguette bruschetta style with some marscapone. So good. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Jam

A sweet, smoky, savory spread for biscuits, burgers, and more.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States