Tomato and Bacon Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
LOVE this! I've made this several times with fresh tomatoes from the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Great over a block of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
YU-MMY! I used a white onion (blanched in salt water to cut the acidity) because that's what I had on hand, and only added 3/4 c. of sugar like another reviewer suggested and it came out great. I will try using a bit less sugar next time. Good stuff :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JimCooks
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Wow! Just wow! Such delicious depth of flavor and satisfaction. I went a little wild today at the farmers' market so needed some quick things to make with heirloom tomatoes. I made a half-recipe, reduced the sugar slightly (from the half Cup split), added about 1/2t of minced garlic and a shake or two of cayenne pepper. Now wish I'd doubled or tripled it! If nobody minds, I think I'll just eat it straight out of the jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Took it to a higher level. I julienned Bok Choy (Chinese cabbage) with leeks and carrots and tossed them with soy sauce. Using Egg Roll wraps, I smeared the tomato & bacon jam, topped this with the veg and after rolling the wraps, deep fried the Egg Rolls. I seved them on bed of Boston lettuce with slightly warmed Oyster sauce. Oooh soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
We had an a bunch of cherry tomatoes from the garden and I needed a new recipe to use them up. Found this, tried it, LOVE it! My husband and daughter were a little nervous because it's called a "jam" but thought it was delicious. Made it exactly as the recipe except reduced the bacon to 3 strips (that's what I had on hand). I would reduce the sugar a bit because of the sweeter tomatoes and would up the amount of bacon, but I will absolutely make this again. And again. Try it on toasted french bread with a smear of goat cheese topped with the jam. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Yum!!! This was easy to make and YUMMY!!! I cut the sugar back to 3/4 cup instead of 1 cup. It was just too sweet the first time. I am HOOKED on this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Falls City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Humphrey, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I am in love with this stuff! Have made this twice now, with excess tomatoes from mom's garden. First batch exactly as the recipes states (although doubled), 2nd batch using just half the sugar, as my tomatoes were very sweet. Love this stuff! I'm thinking of so many ways to use it - on hamburgers (great!), over cream cheese with crackers (yum!), by the spoonful (yep!). Next to try is on a cheese pannini, and add some horseradish to serve with shrimp cocktail....only negative I have is that my batches took almost 3 hours to cook down, but I was making double-batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This is AMAZING! My boyfriend and I loved this! After reading all the reviews, I went ahead and made the full batch and I'm so glad I did. As other reviewers suggested, I added a little liquid smoke and a dash of cumin since my bacon didn't have a smoked flavor. Mine cooked down in a little less than an hour, but all of the ingredients caramelized beautifully and blended so well. We did the taste test on crackers with cream cheese, but I also plan on topping off a bagel with it and possibly on some eggs. This really would be good on anything! I imagine it would compliment pork very well. The only I will do differently next time is cut back on the salt, but yes, there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Me and my oldest son were bored this evening so we decided to give this recipe a shot. I didn't have any fresh tomatoes so we used canned petite diced so we cut the recipe in half in case it didn't work with the canned variety. It did! We loved loved this its so good! We made bagel chips to eat with it very very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Jam

A sweet, smoky, savory spread for biscuits, burgers, and more.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States