Tomato and Avocado Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I honestly didn't care for the dressing, because I thought it was to much vinegar. My husband hates all vinegar, and he tried it but didn't like it. I loved the combo of the veggies, however, and I'll make this again, maybe next time using olive oil or garlic oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Pedigo Skaggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Thank you very much for such a great way to serve avocado. Four and a half stars for this. I cut the avocado in half and placed it, cut side up, in the middle of the circle of tomato slices, drizzled Kraft Zesty Italian dressing lightly over all and ground fresh black pepper over all to taste. My husband doesn't care for avocado; however, he liked this combination very much. I served with both a fork and spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This was very good. I chopped the tomato and avocado and tossed them with the dressing and some spring mix to make a nice salad. I made half the dressing and used about half of that. I added salt and more pepper to the dressing, and after tasting it I doubled the mustard. Served with a raw corn chowder, this made for a delicious quick and easy dinner after a long day's work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I thought this would be great because I love avocados and had some delicious heirloom tomatoes from our garden. Unfortunately it was just so-so. I think the dish needed something with a different texture to balance the soft items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
mmmm mmmmm mmmm i am not crazy about tomatoes and love this dish!!! the balsamic dressing is so nice with it. very pretty on the plate and healthy too! perfect for spring and summer light eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seal Beach, California, USA
Living In: South Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Yummy! A great way to eat avocados which I love! I scaled the dressing down thanks to some others' suggestion and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
My husband and I both agreed this had very little or no taste. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ivesdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Really good and fresh. Added 1/4 tsp minced garlic a little Lawry's seasoning salt and a splash of Champagne vinegar. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Very good. Love the dressing. There was quite a bit or dressing, but we will use it for salads and other things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Pretty tasty. I took reviewers' advice- halved dressing & used some red wine vinegar in place of some of the balsamic. It was still too much dressing. I also cut up the tomatoes (used 3 Romas) & avocado & put them in a bowl with the dressing. Next time I will reduce dressing even further! Thanks for the healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States