Tomatillo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2000
This recipe gets major raves every time I make it. My friends eyes light up when I tell them I'm getting ready to make some more Tomatillo soup! It does take over an hour to make, but the results are so worth it, even to a non-cook like myself. Thanks, Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
I love this soup! It's kind of like a hot and sour soup. The cilatro and sour cream is a perfect addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
Oh, how I love this soup!! I agree with the last reviewer, it IS sort of a hot and sour flavor. I normally don't care for soups in general but this soup is so tasty, so easy to make, I don't mind hauling out the blender to make it. Also, its kinda fun picking out tomatillos in the supermarket, makes me feel so, gourmet! Last time I made it I jazzed it up a bit with some orzo pasta. Made it a heartier, main dish. Excellent way to use up my roast chicken leftovers. thanks for sharing it!, Ms Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
Great soup. I fixed it as stated and loved it. Perfect with sour cream. thanks. carolynjean
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
Wow, I made this recipe last night for dinner, after being given a bunch of fresh tomatillos and chili peppers from my mother-in-law's garden. It was great, much better than expected, and even my small children ate it, and liked it, admittedly with plenty of sour cream. Definitely a recipe I'll make again when I get more tomatillos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
I was really disappointed after the other rave reviews. The soups was a very thin broth with hunks of chicken floating in it. It was not very interesting and I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
My husband and I though this soup was very good and my husband usually does not like soup. We love tomatillo's and this is a great recipe to use them in! The sour cream is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
i thought this soup was delicious. i didn't puree the soup, just served it chunky. also i served it with a side of warm corn tortillas. it tasted very authentic. i will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
Very delicious. Better than I expected. Although it would not be the same without the cilantro and sour cream. If anything, make sure you add the cilantro. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
I had high hopes for this soup but we were a little disappointed with it. Sorry. Not bad but doubt I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States