Tomatillo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
This has a wonderful, unusual, hot and sour flavor to it. I did follow some of the advice of other reviewers and added a can of black beans and about a cup of frozen corn to give it a little more body. I am not adventurous when it comes to spicy food, but two jalepenos seeded and minced were not too spicy. I even added a little of the hot sauce, although none of the cayenne pepper. I thought the taste was very good. I think if you don't like tomatillos or sour soup, you probably wouldn't like this, but since I like both I was very happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
Did this one last year and it didn't work so well for some reason that I can't remember. But I tried it again tonight and it rocked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
This soup was good. If you like green enchilada sauce, then you may like this as it is like a soup-version of green sauce. I did add some corn to give it more texture and color, as well as used a tidbit of instant mashed potatoes to thicken up the consistancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Nice Southwestern dish. The recipe is worth five stars when tomatillos are in season, during the summer months. Best with more tomatillos - I doubled the quantity, pureeing half and coarsely chopping the other half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
This is a wonderful soup hot and sour. I also didn't puree the vegatables. I added shredded cheddar cheese to the soup. Will make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
This soup was excellent! I made this to use up some tomatillos my mother gave me from her garden. I saw that someone thought the soup was too thin, so I cooked a small potato and blended it into the mixture to thicken it. Then I added black beans and orzo to add a little extra to it and served it with a dollup of sour cream as suggested. Will definately be making alot more of this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
I had high hopes for this soup but we were a little disappointed with it. Sorry. Not bad but doubt I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
Very delicious. Better than I expected. Although it would not be the same without the cilantro and sour cream. If anything, make sure you add the cilantro. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
i thought this soup was delicious. i didn't puree the soup, just served it chunky. also i served it with a side of warm corn tortillas. it tasted very authentic. i will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
My husband and I though this soup was very good and my husband usually does not like soup. We love tomatillo's and this is a great recipe to use them in! The sour cream is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States