Tomatillo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Each summer I grow tomatillo's. I have made this soup many times and it just gets better each time. I do use fresh cilantro,fresh lime juice and a hot cayenne pepper from the garden instead of the hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I did not want to give this recipe a rating because I do not think it is fair but I was forced. I think maybe it is my personal taste and not the actual recipe itself. I hated this soup. The man who eats everything in this house (and I mean everything!) took two tastes and refused another bite. I followed the recipe to a tee. The only thing I did different was strain the soup off so that it was nothing but the broth. The whole thing tasted like I dumped a bottle of vinegar in it. I realize tomatillos are tangy but ughhh. I do think it might be us and our tastes more than the recipe. Whoever tries this, I strongly recommend making it before trying it on company and when you do make it, make it without being concerned if you have to throw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I added just enough broth to cover all the tomatillos and before I pureed, I strained most of the broth out. I used leek instead of onion (milder) and omitted the peppers. I added lime and cumin like many others as well as a dash of cayenne. I didn't have any cilantro but I think it's fine w/o. yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUJayhawksfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chanute, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I really love this soup, and I make it every time I buy fresh tomatillos. The flavor is wonderful - like a spicy hot and sour soup. I like to use a few more tomatillos than the recipe calls for. To thicken it, I add just a little rice, white or brown, and I add crisp sweet corn for color and sweetness. This is SUCH a wonderful recipe! So tasty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lehaha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Delicious! It's like eating enchiladas verdes without the enchilada-making hassle. We topped it with crushed tortilla chips for added texture; can add lime juice for a little extra tang, if you like that. Great use of an abundance of garden tomatillos. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I absolutely loved it! While making it, I wasn't too sure about it, but once I tasted it I was shocked! Since I have a two yr. old, I did not add the chilies, what I did was chopped jalapenos and put them on the side so that we could add it separately, along with white rice and pinto beans and bolillos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I was a little reluctant, but wow to my surprise. This was a little spicy but full of flavor. I have added this to our household menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This turned out to be a very bland soup! I would never consider cooking it again; which is too bad because I love soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This soup is top-notch! Easy to make and tasty. I made a few alterations according to ingredients I had on hand. But will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
After reading the reviews, I decided to add a can of black beans (when I added the tomatillos)to the soup. I also added about 2 teaspoons of cumin and 4 hot peppers instead of 2. The result was a delicious, tangy and (not too)spicy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEN-SU

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States