Tomatillo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This soup was best the next day. I did not add the sour cream. We will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I added rice and ommitted the cayenne to tone it down for my toddler. It was perfect. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Delicious, rich flavor. Great use for a lot of tomatillos. I just used one jalepeno and it was still pretty hot. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I loved this recipe. My friend made it for me and added a can of black beans and roasted corn. I made it at home. It's easy but takes some time. The broth is medium thickness and very very yummy! A must have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I liked it, but it is not for everyone as it is quite acidic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I had never tried tomatillos before but a friend gave us a bunch from her garden. I had very low expecations while cooking - and they were utterly blown away. The soup was WONDERFUL! Followed recipe as written - I did add the can of black beans. It got raves from my husband (and me of course) and from the friend who gave us the tomatillos. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Each summer I grow tomatillo's. I have made this soup many times and it just gets better each time. I do use fresh cilantro,fresh lime juice and a hot cayenne pepper from the garden instead of the hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I did not want to give this recipe a rating because I do not think it is fair but I was forced. I think maybe it is my personal taste and not the actual recipe itself. I hated this soup. The man who eats everything in this house (and I mean everything!) took two tastes and refused another bite. I followed the recipe to a tee. The only thing I did different was strain the soup off so that it was nothing but the broth. The whole thing tasted like I dumped a bottle of vinegar in it. I realize tomatillos are tangy but ughhh. I do think it might be us and our tastes more than the recipe. Whoever tries this, I strongly recommend making it before trying it on company and when you do make it, make it without being concerned if you have to throw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I added just enough broth to cover all the tomatillos and before I pureed, I strained most of the broth out. I used leek instead of onion (milder) and omitted the peppers. I added lime and cumin like many others as well as a dash of cayenne. I didn't have any cilantro but I think it's fine w/o. yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUJayhawksfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chanute, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I really love this soup, and I make it every time I buy fresh tomatillos. The flavor is wonderful - like a spicy hot and sour soup. I like to use a few more tomatillos than the recipe calls for. To thicken it, I add just a little rice, white or brown, and I add crisp sweet corn for color and sweetness. This is SUCH a wonderful recipe! So tasty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lehaha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States