Tomatillo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I love this soup!!! I will make this again and again, and I never do that. I rarely make the same meal once every 6 months, but I bet I will make this at least twice a month from now on! I did leave the chicken out and subbed a can of rinsed and drained black beans instead. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This soup was perfect for a cold night. I followed the advise from some of the other reviews and added: beans, corn, garlic salt, a little extra buoillion, and cumin. I could have used a few extra tomatillos! We served it over brown rice with tortilla chips on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Very disappointing recipe when made as written. Needed major adjustments after pureed in food processor. I added to taste: lots more pepper sauce than recipe called for, cumin, chili powder and salt and pepper. If you like Tex-Mex flavor, beware...you won't get it if you follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
What a fantastic recipe! I substituted a roasted poblano for the jalapenos, since I can't take too much spice. I also added a can of black beans that I had on hand. The broth was a bit thinner than I expected, but the flavor was so good, it doesn't matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Kangas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Excellent!! I wasn't sure what to do with all of the tomatillos, from our friend's garden. This soup saved the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnParada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
my all time favorite soup. i don't use chicken though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This recipe is very versatile. For a big pot of soup I used about 3lbs of tomatillos and about an equal number of baked potatoes with liberal amounts of the rest of the ingredients and used a stick blender on it. (I got it thicker than it needed to be.) I served this great tart broth with sides of baked corn tortilla strips, cubed avocado, shredded chicken thighs (from the broth), green onions, cilantro, and sour cream. I got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This soup was delicious! I had a bumper crop of tomatillos this year and this was one of the recipes that used up a significant amount. I made only one change to the recipe. I added one cup of rice at the end and cooked it in the broth. I didn't need to add more stock, because my family likes thick soup! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Excellent recipe and flavorful-reminds me of a base for a good green chili sauce! I made some minor additions/changes; first I rubbed the tomatillos in olive oil and put under the broiler for about 5 min. to bring out the flavors, and just crushed them after adding to the soup. Also added some cumin. Will be making this again, so thanks for the post, Holly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States