Tomatillo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was great soup! Changed the recipe a bit - added a bit of cumin and marjoram and some corn and black beans at the end of the cooking to make it a bit more filling. Also, like another reviewer, I just added all the ingredients (whole) to the crock pot and then after about 5.5 hours on high, took out the chicken and shredded it and blended the rest and then added the chicken back - sooooo good and SO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I also used the slow cooker, but didn't have any chicken handy so I used some sausages that were handy. My husband doesn't like hot foods so I cut back on the cayenne. I think this would be good with some gabanzo beans. Great way to use us all those tomatillos that got ripe at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I wish it were a bit thicker. But good flavor. I didn't need to put in cayenne pepper or hot sauce, it was spicy enough! And I like spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Excellent Soup! The flavors and spice were great. The only thing I changed is I increased the cilantro to 1/4 cup, I added about a half cup of hominy after I pured the vegies and cooked for about 15 miniutes to get the flavor of the hominy throughout the soup (4 servings) and topped it off with a tablespoon of shredded Monterey Jack per bowl. This is definitely going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denman
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Wow! an excellent soup and a great way to use up my tomatillo's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
My alterations: 2 pounds tomatillos 2 cups chicken broth I simmered uncovered to reduce and thicken a little. After pureeing, I stirred in 2 ounces shredded Pepper Jack cheese while it was reheating. Delicious! Good for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
We made this last fall when we had an abundant amount of tomatillo's. It was fabulous! My family is begging for it this fall again but this time I am going to make a huge batch and freeze so we can eat it through out winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CME
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This recipe was just ok. Neither my husband or daughter liked it, so I will not be making it again. It just tasted like chicken soup with a twang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I really loved this recipe. I cut the jalapeno down to half which was a good thing because this was a bit spicy with half, but it was excellent. Wonderful soup for a cold day. I also used 4 cups bouillon instead of actual chicken stock. I did not add hot pepper sauce or cayenne pepper as this would have been inedible even for the brave. I eat jalapenos whole and cutting down the jalapenos was perfect for me. All in all, excellent recipe. Love the tomatillos. Gave this four stars only because of the excessive call for spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States