Tomatillo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Excellent Soup! The flavors and spice were great. The only thing I changed is I increased the cilantro to 1/4 cup, I added about a half cup of hominy after I pured the vegies and cooked for about 15 miniutes to get the flavor of the hominy throughout the soup (4 servings) and topped it off with a tablespoon of shredded Monterey Jack per bowl. This is definitely going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denman
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Wow! an excellent soup and a great way to use up my tomatillo's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
My alterations: 2 pounds tomatillos 2 cups chicken broth I simmered uncovered to reduce and thicken a little. After pureeing, I stirred in 2 ounces shredded Pepper Jack cheese while it was reheating. Delicious! Good for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
We made this last fall when we had an abundant amount of tomatillo's. It was fabulous! My family is begging for it this fall again but this time I am going to make a huge batch and freeze so we can eat it through out winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CME
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This recipe was just ok. Neither my husband or daughter liked it, so I will not be making it again. It just tasted like chicken soup with a twang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I really loved this recipe. I cut the jalapeno down to half which was a good thing because this was a bit spicy with half, but it was excellent. Wonderful soup for a cold day. I also used 4 cups bouillon instead of actual chicken stock. I did not add hot pepper sauce or cayenne pepper as this would have been inedible even for the brave. I eat jalapenos whole and cutting down the jalapenos was perfect for me. All in all, excellent recipe. Love the tomatillos. Gave this four stars only because of the excessive call for spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I love this soup!!! I will make this again and again, and I never do that. I rarely make the same meal once every 6 months, but I bet I will make this at least twice a month from now on! I did leave the chicken out and subbed a can of rinsed and drained black beans instead. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This soup was perfect for a cold night. I followed the advise from some of the other reviews and added: beans, corn, garlic salt, a little extra buoillion, and cumin. I could have used a few extra tomatillos! We served it over brown rice with tortilla chips on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Very disappointing recipe when made as written. Needed major adjustments after pureed in food processor. I added to taste: lots more pepper sauce than recipe called for, cumin, chili powder and salt and pepper. If you like Tex-Mex flavor, beware...you won't get it if you follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States