Tomatillo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I made this recipe in the crock pot as suggested by Erin (put everything in the crock pot and cooked on low for 6 hours). After blending everything but the chicken (which I shredded), I put all the ingredients back in the crock pot and added a can of corn and pinto beans and heated for another 30 min ~ we served it with chips and fresh avocado. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Turned out good but thin as others said. I added a Masa Harina paste (1/2 cup Masa Harina mixed with 1/2 cup water) that thickened it up, and also added two ears' worth of grilled corn, and was very happy with the result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
this was pretty good. I did add 3 cans of white beans & only pureed a small amount of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Put everything in the crockpot the night before except for the chicken. Added 2 large boneless chicken breasts in the am. Looked weird when I got home - took a stick blender to it. Shredded the chicken and put it back. Added hot sauce, cumin, 1 can or rinsed black beans and about a cup of frozen corn. Was out of cilantro and sour cream, served over crushed fritos and topped with shredded cheese - 12 year old son asked for 2nds! Husband asked for 2nds - glad to have something to do with the tomatillo's. They were volunteers from last year when I didn't know what to do with them and left them out to rot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pondersosa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Excellent recipe. I've made it twice, both times with fresh tomatillos and cilantro from the garden. First time followed recipe exactly and found it a little too spicy hot. Second time served for eight friends, only used the chopped jalepenos and black pepper. Passed a bowl of chopped jalepenos & jar of hot sauce for those who wanted a little more heat. Next time going to try with pork and black beans. Expect this to be a frequent soup on our table. I served with a light leaf salad with lots of avacado & cilantro - really a nice pairing with the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I LOVE this soup. It was very easy to make and it was even better made with fresh tomatillos from my garden. I probably added more than one pound to the recipe (I did't weigh them) and I didn't add any of the spicy seasonings except for the jalapenos (also out of my garden!). I didn't think my family would eat anything too spicy but next time I will add more fresh japs instead of cayenne or hot sauce because the japs gave it a great flavor. thanks for the awesome soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I have never eaten a tomatillo, so this may be because of that...but this was not very tasty to me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
used a few dashes of chili powder instead of cayenne pepper. Added cord tortillas cut up like noodles. No jalapeno peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Maksymiw
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Very tasty. I added a few extras....kidney beans, char grilled corn, some tomato and jalepenas. Had to make it go a bit further! It is a great main course soup. Next time I might even add a little rice to thicken a bit more, but it is an excellent soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Awesome recipe. It has been a long time that I have been wanting to use tomatillos. Thanks for the post but also thanks to the other reviewers whose advise I took: 1. I do believe the original recipe can be bland and waterry. So, I added 1 cup less of the chicken stock. I also added a mexican spice blend, a red pepper, and adoba. I also fried the chicken in chipotole pepper sauce. It was awesome. I could not believe I ate 3 bowls. We added tortillas on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States