Tomatillo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
Oh, how I love this soup!! I agree with the last reviewer, it IS sort of a hot and sour flavor. I normally don't care for soups in general but this soup is so tasty, so easy to make, I don't mind hauling out the blender to make it. Also, its kinda fun picking out tomatillos in the supermarket, makes me feel so, gourmet! Last time I made it I jazzed it up a bit with some orzo pasta. Made it a heartier, main dish. Excellent way to use up my roast chicken leftovers. thanks for sharing it!, Ms Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
Did this one last year and it didn't work so well for some reason that I can't remember. But I tried it again tonight and it rocked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2000
This recipe gets major raves every time I make it. My friends eyes light up when I tell them I'm getting ready to make some more Tomatillo soup! It does take over an hour to make, but the results are so worth it, even to a non-cook like myself. Thanks, Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
I love this soup! It's kind of like a hot and sour soup. The cilatro and sour cream is a perfect addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
Great soup. I fixed it as stated and loved it. Perfect with sour cream. thanks. carolynjean
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
Wow, I made this recipe last night for dinner, after being given a bunch of fresh tomatillos and chili peppers from my mother-in-law's garden. It was great, much better than expected, and even my small children ate it, and liked it, admittedly with plenty of sour cream. Definitely a recipe I'll make again when I get more tomatillos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
i thought this soup was delicious. i didn't puree the soup, just served it chunky. also i served it with a side of warm corn tortillas. it tasted very authentic. i will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
This soup was excellent! I made this to use up some tomatillos my mother gave me from her garden. I saw that someone thought the soup was too thin, so I cooked a small potato and blended it into the mixture to thicken it. Then I added black beans and orzo to add a little extra to it and served it with a dollup of sour cream as suggested. Will definately be making alot more of this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
This has a wonderful, unusual, hot and sour flavor to it. I did follow some of the advice of other reviewers and added a can of black beans and about a cup of frozen corn to give it a little more body. I am not adventurous when it comes to spicy food, but two jalepenos seeded and minced were not too spicy. I even added a little of the hot sauce, although none of the cayenne pepper. I thought the taste was very good. I think if you don't like tomatillos or sour soup, you probably wouldn't like this, but since I like both I was very happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Delicious, tangy soup! I added a little garlic salt as well as some ground cumin to add a more mexican flavor. I used cubed chicken rather than shredded and it was still very yummy. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States