Tomatillo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Great soup. I made mine in the slow cooker. It was super easy and fast. I added 2 raw whole chicken breasts, all the ingredients (I didn't even chop the onions or tomatillo's, just added them whole) I put it on low for about 6 hours, then I put everything except the chicken breasts in my blender. I shredded the chicken, and added the puree back to the pot. Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I've only recently discovered tomatillos, and was so happy to find this recipe! I used just over a pound of tomatillos but I definitely think I should have used more - the broth was a little too watery for my liking. I added a little bit of cumin, and also a splash of lime juice. The flavor was absolutely outstanding! I will be making this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Nice Southwestern dish. The recipe is worth five stars when tomatillos are in season, during the summer months. Best with more tomatillos - I doubled the quantity, pureeing half and coarsely chopping the other half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This was delicious! Following other reviews, I used more tomatillos (1.5 lbs) to make the soup thicker, and I reduced the (vegetable) broth to 3 cups. It came out slightly thinner than a good pea soup--just right. I made it without chicken and instead topped it with chopped avocado, which was excellent. I had two leftover Jamaican hot peppers, so I threw those in instead of jalapenos, which made the soup plenty hot--I didn't even need to add cayenne or hot sauce (and I love heat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
This soup was excellent! I made this to use up some tomatillos my mother gave me from her garden. I saw that someone thought the soup was too thin, so I cooked a small potato and blended it into the mixture to thicken it. Then I added black beans and orzo to add a little extra to it and served it with a dollup of sour cream as suggested. Will definately be making alot more of this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Delicious, tangy soup! I added a little garlic salt as well as some ground cumin to add a more mexican flavor. I used cubed chicken rather than shredded and it was still very yummy. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I really love this soup, and I make it every time I buy fresh tomatillos. The flavor is wonderful - like a spicy hot and sour soup. I like to use a few more tomatillos than the recipe calls for. To thicken it, I add just a little rice, white or brown, and I add crisp sweet corn for color and sweetness. This is SUCH a wonderful recipe! So tasty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lehaha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
This has a wonderful, unusual, hot and sour flavor to it. I did follow some of the advice of other reviewers and added a can of black beans and about a cup of frozen corn to give it a little more body. I am not adventurous when it comes to spicy food, but two jalepenos seeded and minced were not too spicy. I even added a little of the hot sauce, although none of the cayenne pepper. I thought the taste was very good. I think if you don't like tomatillos or sour soup, you probably wouldn't like this, but since I like both I was very happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
I was really disappointed after the other rave reviews. The soups was a very thin broth with hunks of chicken floating in it. It was not very interesting and I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I was a little reluctant, but wow to my surprise. This was a little spicy but full of flavor. I have added this to our household menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States