Tomatillo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
After reading the reviews, I decided to add a can of black beans (when I added the tomatillos)to the soup. I also added about 2 teaspoons of cumin and 4 hot peppers instead of 2. The result was a delicious, tangy and (not too)spicy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEN-SU

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This was delicious! Following other reviews, I used more tomatillos (1.5 lbs) to make the soup thicker, and I reduced the (vegetable) broth to 3 cups. It came out slightly thinner than a good pea soup--just right. I made it without chicken and instead topped it with chopped avocado, which was excellent. I had two leftover Jamaican hot peppers, so I threw those in instead of jalapenos, which made the soup plenty hot--I didn't even need to add cayenne or hot sauce (and I love heat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
it was great! it will definitely become a frequent meal in our home. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I've only recently discovered tomatillos, and was so happy to find this recipe! I used just over a pound of tomatillos but I definitely think I should have used more - the broth was a little too watery for my liking. I added a little bit of cumin, and also a splash of lime juice. The flavor was absolutely outstanding! I will be making this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Delicious, tangy soup! I added a little garlic salt as well as some ground cumin to add a more mexican flavor. I used cubed chicken rather than shredded and it was still very yummy. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
This has a wonderful, unusual, hot and sour flavor to it. I did follow some of the advice of other reviewers and added a can of black beans and about a cup of frozen corn to give it a little more body. I am not adventurous when it comes to spicy food, but two jalepenos seeded and minced were not too spicy. I even added a little of the hot sauce, although none of the cayenne pepper. I thought the taste was very good. I think if you don't like tomatillos or sour soup, you probably wouldn't like this, but since I like both I was very happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
Did this one last year and it didn't work so well for some reason that I can't remember. But I tried it again tonight and it rocked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
This soup was good. If you like green enchilada sauce, then you may like this as it is like a soup-version of green sauce. I did add some corn to give it more texture and color, as well as used a tidbit of instant mashed potatoes to thicken up the consistancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Nice Southwestern dish. The recipe is worth five stars when tomatillos are in season, during the summer months. Best with more tomatillos - I doubled the quantity, pureeing half and coarsely chopping the other half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
This is a wonderful soup hot and sour. I also didn't puree the vegatables. I added shredded cheddar cheese to the soup. Will make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States