Tomatillo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Very delicious soup, good basic recipe! Following other suggestions used 1.5 lbs tomatillos. Used leftover shredded spicy pork instead of shredded chicken as well. Tasted the soup before adding the hot pepper sauce and it was very tangy/vinegar-y. Hot pepper sauce cut the vinegar flavor and did not add much heat. If you don't like the flavor of your soup, adjust the seasonings! I didn't measure the hot pepper sauce, just kept adding drops and retasting until I liked it. Cilantro is a must, I was skeptical but it really adds to the flavor. Sour cream makes it creamier if you like a more substantial soup. Served with tortilla chips as well, big hit with all the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Tried this recipe because I had a tomatillo based Tortilla Soup in Mexico. It turned out just the same as the Mexican version. I used pork instead of chicken and a little more of the tomatillo. Serve with cubed queso fresco, queso oxacca, and powdered cotija (my favorite mexican cheeses) on the side. Also mexican cream (slightly soured cream), chopped green onions, and tortilla chips. Everyone loves to add their own stuff to the soup and there is never any left. People love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Used thigh meat and added a can of corn. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
What a rich and delicious soup! Absolutely loved it and served it with a black bean quesadilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I canned this soup in pint jars. After calling the canning help line, I placed one Tbsp lemon juice per pint jar and used in a waterbath canner for 15 minutes. Quarts would require 2 Tbsp and 20 minutes of water bath time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This soup was best the next day. I did not add the sour cream. We will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I added rice and ommitted the cayenne to tone it down for my toddler. It was perfect. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Delicious, rich flavor. Great use for a lot of tomatillos. I just used one jalepeno and it was still pretty hot. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I loved this recipe. My friend made it for me and added a can of black beans and roasted corn. I made it at home. It's easy but takes some time. The broth is medium thickness and very very yummy! A must have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I liked it, but it is not for everyone as it is quite acidic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States