Tomatillo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
my all time favorite soup. i don't use chicken though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This recipe is very versatile. For a big pot of soup I used about 3lbs of tomatillos and about an equal number of baked potatoes with liberal amounts of the rest of the ingredients and used a stick blender on it. (I got it thicker than it needed to be.) I served this great tart broth with sides of baked corn tortilla strips, cubed avocado, shredded chicken thighs (from the broth), green onions, cilantro, and sour cream. I got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This soup was delicious! I had a bumper crop of tomatillos this year and this was one of the recipes that used up a significant amount. I made only one change to the recipe. I added one cup of rice at the end and cooked it in the broth. I didn't need to add more stock, because my family likes thick soup! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Excellent recipe and flavorful-reminds me of a base for a good green chili sauce! I made some minor additions/changes; first I rubbed the tomatillos in olive oil and put under the broiler for about 5 min. to bring out the flavors, and just crushed them after adding to the soup. Also added some cumin. Will be making this again, so thanks for the post, Holly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twobtwot9809
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Great soup, I gave 4 stars because I had to add cumin, black beans to give it real flavor. It's a good base though. I used all the stock, but then remove a cup of it before pureeing the veggies and then added some back to the pot to improve the consistency. I didn't puree all the veggies (only about 75% of them). I liked the texture this way. Also needs a lot more tomatillos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twobtwot9809

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Very delicious and flavorful soup, even though I changed/adjusted some of its ingridients to my taste. Following other suggestions used more than the indicated amount of tomatillos and less chicken stock. Tasted the soup before adding some cumin, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bitola, Pelagonia, Macedonia
Living In: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I had no idea what to do with tamtillos i received in my CSA. I made this and it was fantastic. Especially with the dollop of sour cream on top. i didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Great soup. I made mine in the slow cooker. It was super easy and fast. I added 2 raw whole chicken breasts, all the ingredients (I didn't even chop the onions or tomatillo's, just added them whole) I put it on low for about 6 hours, then I put everything except the chicken breasts in my blender. I shredded the chicken, and added the puree back to the pot. Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Very easy, and soooo flavorful! I eliminated the jalepenos, and added a little extra hot sauce. The spiciness was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This recipe was good! I thought the recipe was a little bland at first (hence 4 stars instead of ) so I added a few dashes of cumin and a couple of teaspoons of chicken boullion. I topped each bowl with the suggested fresh leaves of cilantro and sour cream...don't skip the sour cream! It really added a nice touch to the soup. I also topped with some avocado. So delicious! Everyone was a fan at dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reston, Virginia, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States