Tomatillo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Great soup. I made mine in the slow cooker. It was super easy and fast. I added 2 raw whole chicken breasts, all the ingredients (I didn't even chop the onions or tomatillo's, just added them whole) I put it on low for about 6 hours, then I put everything except the chicken breasts in my blender. I shredded the chicken, and added the puree back to the pot. Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Very easy, and soooo flavorful! I eliminated the jalepenos, and added a little extra hot sauce. The spiciness was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This recipe was good! I thought the recipe was a little bland at first (hence 4 stars instead of ) so I added a few dashes of cumin and a couple of teaspoons of chicken boullion. I topped each bowl with the suggested fresh leaves of cilantro and sour cream...don't skip the sour cream! It really added a nice touch to the soup. I also topped with some avocado. So delicious! Everyone was a fan at dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reston, Virginia, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Loved this! It feels like a wonderful Southwestern dish, and somehow perfect for the summer. I served it with brown rice and cold drinks. Added a small handful of brown rice to thicken it up per other reviews, as well as a can of sweet corn. It was somehow amazingly delish-- sour, spicy, and fresh... would've been good even without the corn, though the corn does make it look much nicer. I hand-shredded my chicken and it turned out nice and juicy; topped it with mashed avocado instead of sour cream (which wasn't bad!). I liked it with more cilantro, and can't wait to try it with black beans next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Wonderful soup to serve with grilled chicken. I like to add an extra jalapeno rather than the hot sauce to make it spicier, but it is good the way the recipe is written. Great use for tomatillos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Very delicious soup, good basic recipe! Following other suggestions used 1.5 lbs tomatillos. Used leftover shredded spicy pork instead of shredded chicken as well. Tasted the soup before adding the hot pepper sauce and it was very tangy/vinegar-y. Hot pepper sauce cut the vinegar flavor and did not add much heat. If you don't like the flavor of your soup, adjust the seasonings! I didn't measure the hot pepper sauce, just kept adding drops and retasting until I liked it. Cilantro is a must, I was skeptical but it really adds to the flavor. Sour cream makes it creamier if you like a more substantial soup. Served with tortilla chips as well, big hit with all the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Tried this recipe because I had a tomatillo based Tortilla Soup in Mexico. It turned out just the same as the Mexican version. I used pork instead of chicken and a little more of the tomatillo. Serve with cubed queso fresco, queso oxacca, and powdered cotija (my favorite mexican cheeses) on the side. Also mexican cream (slightly soured cream), chopped green onions, and tortilla chips. Everyone loves to add their own stuff to the soup and there is never any left. People love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Used thigh meat and added a can of corn. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
What a rich and delicious soup! Absolutely loved it and served it with a black bean quesadilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I canned this soup in pint jars. After calling the canning help line, I placed one Tbsp lemon juice per pint jar and used in a waterbath canner for 15 minutes. Quarts would require 2 Tbsp and 20 minutes of water bath time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States