Tomatillo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Excellent recipe. I've made it twice, both times with fresh tomatillos and cilantro from the garden. First time followed recipe exactly and found it a little too spicy hot. Second time served for eight friends, only used the chopped jalepenos and black pepper. Passed a bowl of chopped jalepenos & jar of hot sauce for those who wanted a little more heat. Next time going to try with pork and black beans. Expect this to be a frequent soup on our table. I served with a light leaf salad with lots of avacado & cilantro - really a nice pairing with the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I LOVE this soup. It was very easy to make and it was even better made with fresh tomatillos from my garden. I probably added more than one pound to the recipe (I did't weigh them) and I didn't add any of the spicy seasonings except for the jalapenos (also out of my garden!). I didn't think my family would eat anything too spicy but next time I will add more fresh japs instead of cayenne or hot sauce because the japs gave it a great flavor. thanks for the awesome soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I have never eaten a tomatillo, so this may be because of that...but this was not very tasty to me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
used a few dashes of chili powder instead of cayenne pepper. Added cord tortillas cut up like noodles. No jalapeno peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANDRONICKY
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Very tasty. I added a few extras....kidney beans, char grilled corn, some tomato and jalepenas. Had to make it go a bit further! It is a great main course soup. Next time I might even add a little rice to thicken a bit more, but it is an excellent soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRONICKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Awesome recipe. It has been a long time that I have been wanting to use tomatillos. Thanks for the post but also thanks to the other reviewers whose advise I took: 1. I do believe the original recipe can be bland and waterry. So, I added 1 cup less of the chicken stock. I also added a mexican spice blend, a red pepper, and adoba. I also fried the chicken in chipotole pepper sauce. It was awesome. I could not believe I ate 3 bowls. We added tortillas on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I grew tomatillos in my garden last summer, and wasn't sure what to do with them until I tried this recipe. It is an amazing soup. I slice corn tortillas and bake in oven until crispy, then add to soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahopac, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was great soup! Changed the recipe a bit - added a bit of cumin and marjoram and some corn and black beans at the end of the cooking to make it a bit more filling. Also, like another reviewer, I just added all the ingredients (whole) to the crock pot and then after about 5.5 hours on high, took out the chicken and shredded it and blended the rest and then added the chicken back - sooooo good and SO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I also used the slow cooker, but didn't have any chicken handy so I used some sausages that were handy. My husband doesn't like hot foods so I cut back on the cayenne. I think this would be good with some gabanzo beans. Great way to use us all those tomatillos that got ripe at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States