Tomatillo Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Awesome! Thank you Kimberly for sharing. I did follow some other suggestions and roasted the tomatillos, peppers and garlic. Also used lime juice and added no water, but your recipe brought me to this! I made a double batch for a party last weekend and there was nothing left! Everyone loved it. Lots of compliments. You can really taste the "freshness" of the ingredients. I am making another batch now for another party this weekend. Smells wonderful! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Yum! I increased the garlic a bit and also roasted and scraped the serrano pepper. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I made a few adjustments for what was available to me in my fridge. I used 4 Anaheim peppers,3 jalapeños, and 1 bunch of green onions and ½ cup chicken broth. For the oregano, I used Mexican oregano (I grilled the Anaheim peppers until black all over, then placed in a zip lock for 15 minutes, peeled and rinsed.) I boiled the tomatillos and jalapenos for 7 or 8 minutes drained and set aside. I only used the chicken broth to blend the cilantro, garlic, and green onions. Then added the rest of the ingredients. I would not recommend adding any more liquid. The tomatillos have plenty of natural juice. I rate super yummy and will use this for my chicken and pork tamale’s.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Brava! This is authentic salsa Mexicana. The ranch hands are getting it as part of their lunch con jalapeno. This is a critical crowd, six Hispanic hard working people who know how Mexican food should taste. Great recipe as is, just make plenty, especially if you also serve guacamole or add mashed avocado to salsa. FYI winter is the time for cilantro in south Texas, so either dry your own or use corriander (cilantro)seed. As to limes, cut them and place them on table as people want different amounts of tartness. Buen provecho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOMMU98
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I used 12 medium tomatillos, 2 small jalapeno's, 1 large pasilla pepper, half an onion, 1-2 T cilantro, salt to taste and juice from half a lime. Roasted the tomas, peppers and onion. The roasted tomas were bursting with juice so i poured that in as well. I put all of the roasted stuff in a ziplock bag and pulled and seeded the peppers until everything went into the blender. The salt, lime and cilantro were the last to go in. This was by far my the easiest and tastiest recipe! Last time i made it, i used way too much lime juice and it was so overpowering, this time the half a lime juice seemed to be just the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Best I've tried, easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I have made this salsa a couple of times. I added just enough water to boil the tomatoes. I sautéed the peppers and onions and blended them in with the cooked tomato. using the liquid as needed for the consistency you want. My man who is Mexican said it was really good ??so for that I give it 5 stars ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Della La-la Bella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Very tasty. Changes I made because I added some Himalayan pink salt which is so much saltier than other salts: added two tiny eggplants added 1.5 cups canned tomatoes did not have any fresh oregano-used 1/4 tsp dried marjoram I added 2 T. lime juice Used some frozen jalapeno peppers from our garden instead of serrano. This turned out delightful in flavor, texture and color. I did not add any water and placed everything in my Cuisinart Food Processor and it turned out a super consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
SO GOOD!! and EASY!! I've made it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Too much water, all the seasoning gets dumped in the sink. Steam the tomatillos, onion, garlic and peppers FIRST in a small amount of water; then when mixing in a blender add all the seasoning, spalsh lime juice, splash evoo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Seidenspinner Durjan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States