Tomatillo Guacamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This was good. I thought mine was a little watery, even though I did not add the seeds from the roma tomato. Maybe I added too much lime? Anyway, I would add garlic and salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This was amazing and has become our staple guacamole for all events. I cut the tomatillos in half though because they are a powerful flavor. Also I add a bit more hot pepper sauce or even jalapeno juice but then again I like spice! All in all, tomatillos are a must for flavor in guacamole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLY13

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sedona, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I had no idea if I'd like this, but I really did! Great flavor and the tomatillo's were perfect in this!! Be sure to chop them really small dice so you don't get huge chunks. I also added a little extra red pepper flakes. Yummy guac!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I entered this recipe in a guacamole contest. It came in dead last!! Save your avocados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I love guacamole and tomatillos and this recipe brings them together fantastically! All I can say is watch out for the onions. They can be a bit strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristolville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Being from the chili capital of the world, NM, I use fresh chopped jalapeno peppers in lieu of hot sauce & red pepper flakes. There are too many tomatoes used in this recipe. I only use one tomato, add garlic salt to taste, a pinch of salt, a fresh squeezed lemon and fresh cilantro. I chop all ingredients in a food chopper, as the consistency is supposed to be smooth in lieu of chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Quick to make. Tasty. Hard to screw it up! Add the cumin and garlic as others recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Everyone loved this recipe but I didn't care much for this. Maybe some extra lime and spices would have been better, it just tasted kind of bland to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I thought this would be good, but when you eat it tastes like a stink bug smells. Its the tomatillos, they make the dip taste just like a stink bug, not a good taste. Skip the tomatillos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Excellent guac! I only used a half of shallot because I'm not a fan of raw onion and added a little cumin. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Easy Guacamole

See how to make classic, quick-and-easy guacamole.

Guacamole

See how to make classic guacamole with all fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States