Tomatillo Guacamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
Tomatillos are small and green with a papery husk on them. Depending on where you live, you might find them in the specialty produce section of the grocery store, or at a Mexican market. Sometimes you can buy them canned, but for this recipe, I would advise the fresh ones. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This guacamole is great, but why not add a couple springs of cilantro? Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I was not sure if everyone would like this and it ended up disappearing faster than anything else during the Super Bowl. The only change I made was reducing the amount of red onion I put in. This is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I was very impressed with this even before I served it. You could just tell as you chopped up the ingredients and mixed them up that you were going to be in for something good. I did tinker with it a little though, but more just to personalize it to our tastes. I left out the "hot" stuff which Hubs doesn't tolerate well. I backed off on the onion a little so it wouldn't overwhelm, added minced garlic, a finely chopped jalapeno pepper, a small amount of fresh cilantro, and about 3/4 tsp. of cumin, all flavors I typically enjoy in traditional guacamole. I also chose to leave the avocados a little chunky rather than completely mashing them. It took a fair amount of chopping for this recipe, but it was worth it. I served it for a dinner get-together and everyone had at it. A real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
this is the best recipe. it so reminds me of mexico. all fresh and yummy! the only thing i add is about a tablespoon of sour cream. it just adds that extra creaminess that i love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferMHoward

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
I love this recipe! My husband and kids don't like guacamole, but they scarf this down like you wouldn't believe! I brought some in to work for a pot luck, and ended up giving copies of the recipe to several people! I even grew tomatillos in my garden after trying this, and I had NEVER tried a tomatillo before! Wow!! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Idealnut
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
This is a delicious and seriously fresh dip. My hubby couldn't get enough of it! I made life easy and put all of the ingredients into the blender and used the pulse button. The consistency was creamy and a bit smooth. I added a whole jalapeno, some cloves of garlic, and some crushed red pepper on top of the hot sauce! We like it spicy! It came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Idealnut
Home Town: Reykjavík, Höfuðborgarsvæði, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Quick to make. Tasty. Hard to screw it up! Add the cumin and garlic as others recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
This recipe is great-I love the "extras". But beware this can be on the hot side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
I added a serrano pepper the seccond time I made this in place of thehot pepper sauce. I was great this way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Easy Guacamole

See how to make classic, quick-and-easy guacamole.

Guacamole

See how to make classic guacamole with all fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States