Tomatillo Guacamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
Tomatillos are small and green with a papery husk on them. Depending on where you live, you might find them in the specialty produce section of the grocery store, or at a Mexican market. Sometimes you can buy them canned, but for this recipe, I would advise the fresh ones. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This guacamole is great, but why not add a couple springs of cilantro? Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I was not sure if everyone would like this and it ended up disappearing faster than anything else during the Super Bowl. The only change I made was reducing the amount of red onion I put in. This is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I was very impressed with this even before I served it. You could just tell as you chopped up the ingredients and mixed them up that you were going to be in for something good. I did tinker with it a little though, but more just to personalize it to our tastes. I left out the "hot" stuff which Hubs doesn't tolerate well. I backed off on the onion a little so it wouldn't overwhelm, added minced garlic, a finely chopped jalapeno pepper, a small amount of fresh cilantro, and about 3/4 tsp. of cumin, all flavors I typically enjoy in traditional guacamole. I also chose to leave the avocados a little chunky rather than completely mashing them. It took a fair amount of chopping for this recipe, but it was worth it. I served it for a dinner get-together and everyone had at it. A real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
this is the best recipe. it so reminds me of mexico. all fresh and yummy! the only thing i add is about a tablespoon of sour cream. it just adds that extra creaminess that i love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferMHoward

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
I love this recipe! My husband and kids don't like guacamole, but they scarf this down like you wouldn't believe! I brought some in to work for a pot luck, and ended up giving copies of the recipe to several people! I even grew tomatillos in my garden after trying this, and I had NEVER tried a tomatillo before! Wow!! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Quick to make. Tasty. Hard to screw it up! Add the cumin and garlic as others recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Idealnut
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
This is a delicious and seriously fresh dip. My hubby couldn't get enough of it! I made life easy and put all of the ingredients into the blender and used the pulse button. The consistency was creamy and a bit smooth. I added a whole jalapeno, some cloves of garlic, and some crushed red pepper on top of the hot sauce! We like it spicy! It came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Idealnut
Home Town: Reykjavík, Höfuðborgarsvæði, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
This recipe is great-I love the "extras". But beware this can be on the hot side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
I added a serrano pepper the seccond time I made this in place of thehot pepper sauce. I was great this way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Easy Guacamole

See how to make classic, quick-and-easy guacamole.

Guacamole

See how to make classic guacamole with all fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States