Tomatillo Guacamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
Tomatillos are small and green with a papery husk on them. Depending on where you live, you might find them in the specialty produce section of the grocery store, or at a Mexican market. Sometimes you can buy them canned, but for this recipe, I would advise the fresh ones. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
Yum, yum, yum. Great change from plain salsa. It's got a great tang with the tomatillos. We'll be making this one at all of our get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
I added a serrano pepper the seccond time I made this in place of thehot pepper sauce. I was great this way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
This recipe is great-I love the "extras". But beware this can be on the hot side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I was not sure if everyone would like this and it ended up disappearing faster than anything else during the Super Bowl. The only change I made was reducing the amount of red onion I put in. This is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
the best guacamole ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
I love this recipe! My husband and kids don't like guacamole, but they scarf this down like you wouldn't believe! I brought some in to work for a pot luck, and ended up giving copies of the recipe to several people! I even grew tomatillos in my garden after trying this, and I had NEVER tried a tomatillo before! Wow!! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This guacamole is great, but why not add a couple springs of cilantro? Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
this is the best recipe. it so reminds me of mexico. all fresh and yummy! the only thing i add is about a tablespoon of sour cream. it just adds that extra creaminess that i love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferMHoward

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
yummy. this was delicious. great call on both the cilantro and limiting the red onion. i only put half the onion in there and still woke up w/heinous breath. yikes! plus, i couldn't find roma tomatoes, so i just used plum. one thing i laid off of was the red pepper b/c my husband doesn't like spicy as much as i do, but i did put way more than 3 drops of tobassco in there. i also thought this would be a great thing for the food processor, but since no one else tried it, i did it the old fashioned way. chunky is nice, but i think i may try beating it to a pulp next time. tho my husband says he liked it chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Easy Guacamole

See how to make classic, quick-and-easy guacamole.

Guacamole

See how to make classic guacamole with all fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States