Tomatillo Guacamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I'll admit that I don't make this particular recipes, my boyfriend does, but it blows my mind every single time he does. It's a frequent request around here, and whenever it's made for parties and get togethers, it is always the first that gets eaten up, no matter how large a batch he makes. If you love guac, you're going to love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This was delicious. The addition of the tomatillo really added a new dimension, I loved the texture and the tang! I used 4 avocado and only 2 tomatoes and added a a few tbsp of chopped cilantro. Thanks for a new take on guac!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Belcher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Meh. I would actually like to taste the avocado. Maybe one less tomatillo would suit my taste better. I also only used two tomatos, because 3 just seemed too much. Other than that, I liked it with the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This is almost the way I have been making guac for years. The only thing I add to it is a little ground cumin and cilantro. It adds some kick and an authentic mexican flavor. Make sure to add some lime or lemon juice to keep the avos from turning brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
The recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This was exactly what I was looking for! I did add 1 clove garlic crushed because I add garlic to just about everything! We keep lots of antacid & breath mints around as a result! LOL Great guacamole with the tomatilla twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This is a good recipe. I had a hard time finding the tomatillo's at my local supermarket, so I went to the Latino supermarket and of course they had them. I used more crushed red pepper than what this recipe called for and more tabasco sause, I like it spicy, but it really wasn't too spicy. My mom could still eat it. This recipe probally would be a little better with some cilantro in it. My favorite guacamole from this website is LuvAnn's Guacamole, you should check that one out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This is a great recipe! I always add about a teaspoon of olive oil, cilantro, and either a jalapeno or Serrano pepper or both to give it more of a kick. We like things spicy in my house and do not omit the hot sauce but this still isn't overly hot with the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Really good guacamole! Instead of red pepper flakes and hot sauce I used a seeded Jalapeno(a few seeds left in to add some heat). I added cilantro as I like the flavour, put it all in a blender. I will make this one over and over! Yummy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by canadiangirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
SIMPLY THE BEST! I DID ADD CUMIN AS SOMEONE SUGGESTED! THE TOMATILLOS, I SO HAPPEN TO HAVE BOUGHT THEM JUST TO TRY THEM, SO WHEN I SAW THE RECIPE I WAS LIKE YES! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Easy Guacamole

See how to make classic, quick-and-easy guacamole.

Guacamole

See how to make classic guacamole with all fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States