Tomatillo Guacamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This was good. I thought mine was a little watery, even though I did not add the seeds from the roma tomato. Maybe I added too much lime? Anyway, I would add garlic and salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This was amazing and has become our staple guacamole for all events. I cut the tomatillos in half though because they are a powerful flavor. Also I add a bit more hot pepper sauce or even jalapeno juice but then again I like spice! All in all, tomatillos are a must for flavor in guacamole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLY13

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sedona, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I had no idea if I'd like this, but I really did! Great flavor and the tomatillo's were perfect in this!! Be sure to chop them really small dice so you don't get huge chunks. I also added a little extra red pepper flakes. Yummy guac!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I entered this recipe in a guacamole contest. It came in dead last!! Save your avocados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I love guacamole and tomatillos and this recipe brings them together fantastically! All I can say is watch out for the onions. They can be a bit strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristolville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Being from the chili capital of the world, NM, I use fresh chopped jalapeno peppers in lieu of hot sauce & red pepper flakes. There are too many tomatoes used in this recipe. I only use one tomato, add garlic salt to taste, a pinch of salt, a fresh squeezed lemon and fresh cilantro. I chop all ingredients in a food chopper, as the consistency is supposed to be smooth in lieu of chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Quick to make. Tasty. Hard to screw it up! Add the cumin and garlic as others recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Everyone loved this recipe but I didn't care much for this. Maybe some extra lime and spices would have been better, it just tasted kind of bland to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I thought this would be good, but when you eat it tastes like a stink bug smells. Its the tomatillos, they make the dip taste just like a stink bug, not a good taste. Skip the tomatillos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Excellent guac! I only used a half of shallot because I'm not a fan of raw onion and added a little cumin. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Easy Guacamole

See how to make classic, quick-and-easy guacamole.

Guacamole

See how to make classic guacamole with all fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States