Tom Yum Koong Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
EXOTIC!EASY! I loved this even before the coconut milk was added. The C.milk gave it the complex flavor. Enjoyable either way. I ruined it a bit by pureeing the lemongrass to give it a stronger flavor. BIG MISTAKE! You're constantly spitting out unchewable hairs and scales. It should be removed from soup before serving. I suggest pureeing, and wrapping in cheese cloth. LESSON: "follow the recipe".Thanks for the great recipe. I feel so accomplished now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2funrealtors

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
An excellent recipe for a favorite soup. It was hard to find some of the ingredients, so I had to replace lime rind with the kaffir leaves and one habanero pepper for the bird's eye peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
This soup is amazing! I was looking for a recipe like this after having this soup at a Thai restaurant. The first time I made this recipe, it turned out great but making the broth from scratch is expensive and time consuming. I used fish stock the second time around (the broth made from dissolving a cube into hot water) in combination with the fish sauce and it tasted exactly the same - except it took a lot less time! I threw in the shrimp without shells later on. I would recommend cooking the shrimp for a little less time than the recipe recommends if you don't want them to come out rubbery! I also added Thai red curry paste instead of the Tom yum soup paste that I couldn't find. This recipe is definitely a keeper in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This was great and authentic tasting. I doubled the lemongrass and used powdered galangal since I could not find fresh. I may have added too many vegetable chunks so next time I will reduce so there is more delicious soup. Really great and spicy. Make sure you have some tissues handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This soup was absolutely uh-mazing! the only change I made was adding an extra tablespoon of tom yum paste and had it served with rice. It's so easy and fast to make...in fact it only took me 20 minutes! Next time I will add mussels to the recipe since my family devoured the shrimp so quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
This so EXCELLENT, This is the same soup I oredered at our Finest Royal Thai Cusine, a 10 Star Thai restaurant, with master chefs from all over Thailand, and China. This Soup has won numerous awards in Thai Fine dining. I love this soup it's spicy and the flavors are EXPLODING IN YOUR MOUTH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This was great! Close to the dish served at a local five star Thai Restaurant. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
My husband and I just went to Thailand and I have to say that even without the sounds of Bangkok around me this soup took me back there!! It was absolutely splendid!! I don't think any 2 Tom Yum's are the same since I had it at a few different restaurants and each varied a little but if I can make such a good one in my own kitchen life is great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I made this hours ago, and my lips are still tingling! I am SO happy to have found this recipe. I made a 30 mile round trip to get all the ingredients from the grocers which is attached to our fave Thai restaurant, and all I can say is that is was totally worth the time and effort. I would not recommend making this with substitutions - dried lemon grass, ginger, lime zest, etc are simply nowhere near as good as the real thing. Also, the lemon grass I buy is very thick and woody, so I just strip off the outer layers and cut it in half so that I can easily pick it out when it is done cooking (I cannot imagine actually eating it). Similarly, make sure you pick out the galangal and lime leaves after it's done cooking (sorry if I am stating the obvious, but some people might not know). Oh, and I used canned straw mushrooms because that's what the restaurant uses. Apart from adding a little more fish sauce, and also a shrimp bouillon cube, I made this as written. I can hardly believe it's homemade! Thank you SO much, Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I love Tom Yum soup but not as much as the BF does. So this has been a fun adventure. The only reason I don't give this 5 stars is I have made it 3 times and it still doesn't taste like my fav. restaurant’s. I'm getting closer. The first time we simply couldn't find some of the ingredients. The kaffir lime leaves, galangal, chile padi (bird's eye chiles), and chile PASTE were so hard to find. And unlike what some reviewers have said and other places online the kaffir leaves make a difference, the zest isn't quite the same. The opposite is true with galangal I read everywhere that it had a truly unique flavor you can't quite get from anything else. What a headache. Its literally Thai ginger. A few tips. 4 chiles are too much, and I LOVE spicy food (then again I cut mine in half). DO NOT TRY TO FIND THESE AT YOUR LOCAL ALL IN ONE FOOD STORE GO TO AN ASIAN MARKET THE FIRST TIME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scio, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States