Tom Yum Koong Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Fantasticly easy! I made some revisions as I'm not a shrimp eater. In order to make the stock I combined 2 chicken thighs and a broken-up heart of celery. Once everything was ready to consume, I dumped in a can of coconut milk and dinner was served. Thanks for such a great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kameron

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
A can of coconut milk saved this for me. But, don't care for this soup style. It had too much "zing" and not enough "comfort". I thought I'd had Tom Yum Soup before in a restaurant and enjoyed it. Maybe the "Koong" makes it different. Or maybe I am just not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This is by far my favorite recipe on this site and I have made it many times. I like using fresh mushrooms, but some of the canned ones are very good too, you have to experiment with the brands (I can't remember which are good). The changes I've gradually made are as follows: I add a chopped tomato and a chopped purple onion. I add the onions with the lemon grass, stock, etc. I can't even describe how tasty the onions become after boiling in the broth. I then add the mushrooms and tomatoes and I add fresh chopped cilantro and boil those for four minutes, then add the shrimp and boil for another six minutes. Then I take out all the inedible parts before serving, i.e. the galangal, lime leaves, and lemon grass. I like my food extra spicy so I add extra peppers and chop them up and I quadruple the amount of chili paste. I find the soup is better without the tom yum soup paste as it adds a sodium flavor that I don't like. It's also good to add a little extra water with the extra ingredients so you end up with more of the delicious broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Very much like you get in Thailand, but 5min max is heaps for cooking the prawns and I don't think you need canned mushrooms I use extra fresh ones. If you replace the prawns with 300 grams chicken fillets cut into bite sized pieces you have -- Tom Yam Gai
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Excellent recipe!! I also added some diced fresh tomatoes and diced pineapple which added some yummy texture and sweetness to the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Very good. I didnt have all the ingredients as I'm sure it would have been much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I recently went to Bangkok and this is almost exactly what I had at several restaurants. I have a local Asian market and am able to find all the ingredients. I suspect if all you can find is the Tom Yum paste...that would be the most important one. Lemon Grass is important as well. The lime and cilantro is a nice touch for each serving. I loved this recipe/soup and it makes me miss Thailand. No doubt this is authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Honestly, once you get the ingredients, it's so easy and truly fabulous! Tastes just like in the restaurant. I recommend using fresh mushrooms only because the canned ones we bought had a distinctive and unpleasant flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This recipe is absolutely a staple in my house. I have been cooking this recipe for about a year now almost two times a week. (sometimes more!) I am addicted! I can only find the kafir lime leaves online so I substitute with 4 juiced limes making it absolutely delicious! I also throw in a lot of chilies and chile sauce for extra hotness!!! The Tom Yum paste is a also a must... it makes it authentic! This recipe is better than any Tum Yum soup I have had in a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheri
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Definately 5 stars, I don't care for shrip so I used diced chicken breast instead, couldn't find kaffir lime leaves so I zested my limes, and I couldn't find sliced galangal, so I didn't worry about that. Also, I didn't have chili paste but I did use Tom Yum Soup Paste. Was VERY delicious! My oldest daughter loved it and wants it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Turkey Tom Kha Gai

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into a spicy Thai soup with coconut milk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States