Tom Yum Koong Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
So delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hallie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Very good! We used vegetable stock and tofu instead of the shrimp for a vegetarian version and left out the fish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Whenever I go to a Thai’s restaurant, I always order Tom Yum Koong. I have tried to cook this soup at home, but it never came out right! However, last weekend, I found this recipe and tried it! Oh my god! To my surprised, I cooked the best Tom Yum Koong ever!!! It is sweet, sour, perfectly spicy, and authentic just as at my favorite Thai’s restaurant! This will be my all time favorite recipe from for sure! I am going to add a twist to it by adding seafood to see if it is still good! Thank you for a wonderful authentic recipe! It’s simply the BEST! It there was a 6 stars, I would give it a 6 stars! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I missed the part about shrimp heads!!....so I had to make do with boiling their shells first? I must have boiled it way too long, b/c most of my water was gone. So I probably added another 3 or 4 cups of water. I doubled the Tom Yum paste and the chili paste (I has something called garlic chili sauce). I just used 8 ounces of regular white mushrooms...plus added a can/jar of baby corn (comes in a slightly sweet pickled liquid that I added too)....I used 3 chilis....I used 6 each of the galangal slices and lime leaves next time...carrots might be a nice touch and some bamboo shoots too!! Loved it though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Fantasticly easy! I made some revisions as I'm not a shrimp eater. In order to make the stock I combined 2 chicken thighs and a broken-up heart of celery. Once everything was ready to consume, I dumped in a can of coconut milk and dinner was served. Thanks for such a great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kameron

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
A can of coconut milk saved this for me. But, don't care for this soup style. It had too much "zing" and not enough "comfort". I thought I'd had Tom Yum Soup before in a restaurant and enjoyed it. Maybe the "Koong" makes it different. Or maybe I am just not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This is by far my favorite recipe on this site and I have made it many times. I like using fresh mushrooms, but some of the canned ones are very good too, you have to experiment with the brands (I can't remember which are good). The changes I've gradually made are as follows: I add a chopped tomato and a chopped purple onion. I add the onions with the lemon grass, stock, etc. I can't even describe how tasty the onions become after boiling in the broth. I then add the mushrooms and tomatoes and I add fresh chopped cilantro and boil those for four minutes, then add the shrimp and boil for another six minutes. Then I take out all the inedible parts before serving, i.e. the galangal, lime leaves, and lemon grass. I like my food extra spicy so I add extra peppers and chop them up and I quadruple the amount of chili paste. I find the soup is better without the tom yum soup paste as it adds a sodium flavor that I don't like. It's also good to add a little extra water with the extra ingredients so you end up with more of the delicious broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Very much like you get in Thailand, but 5min max is heaps for cooking the prawns and I don't think you need canned mushrooms I use extra fresh ones. If you replace the prawns with 300 grams chicken fillets cut into bite sized pieces you have -- Tom Yam Gai
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Excellent recipe!! I also added some diced fresh tomatoes and diced pineapple which added some yummy texture and sweetness to the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States