Tom Yum Koong Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Added lil coconut milk at the end for added thickness. Delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Yummy! Don't forget to pound the lemongrass to get more flavor out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Ahhh... great soup!!! Used about 6 spoons of chile sauce and I love it!!! We usually buy this product for about 8.00 dollars a pint... but I must say this recipe is extremely similar to what we buy... Extremely hot and great!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I have used this recipe 4 or 5 times in the past year. This is a must do soup for anyone with a cold or sinus infection. The lemongrass, lime, ginger and chili pepper are a kick cold killer combo. I fell in love with this soup at a nearby Thai restaurant. I am never one to follow a recipe . . . but I kinda follow the basics on this one. My shrimp stock was made only from the tails of raw shrimp. I used regular ginger instead of galangal. I added cherry tomatoes just like they did at the restaurant. Another time I added spinach. The last time I made this I added turmeric, garlic and sweet potatoes to the soup. The basic stock recipe here is awesome . . . shrimp shells, kaffir lime leaves, lemongrass, chili pepper . . . an exotic pick me up and virus killer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Leia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kapolei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I hadn't had this since my trip to thailand last year and this recipe tasted pretty authentic. I substituted the water for chicken stock and did notice that it was already spicy before adding the thai bird chiles so I only added 2 instead of 4 and waited until the end to add them like another reviewer suggested. Very good! I will save this recipe and make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
It was okay. I had to double the kaffir leaves and the lemongrass to give it any semblance of authenticity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Marvelous soup; spicy and balanced. I used clam juice, onions, 1 tsp. tamarine & red curry paste. So simple, yet complex flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This is a must-try. Seriously. Tasted exactly like it came from my favorite Thai restaurant. Sure, it required a special trip to the Asian supermarket and it was a bit spendy picking up all the special ingredients - who knew kaffir lime leaves were $80 a pound?! - but now I can whip this up whenever I get the craving. Like other reviewers said, do NOT substitute if you can help it. You will spend more but it will be worth it - you won't be sitting there thinking it's missing something. I am absolutely sure the tom yum paste made all the difference - it should not be denoted as optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
With the recent October snow behind us and power back on, we wanted something exotic and Tom Yum came to mind. This recipe is very good. We have an Asian foodstore in nearby Nashua and the woman there was very helpful in getting us everything we needed. Enjoyed the preparation, which was easy. After adding all ingredients and allowing for a nice simmer, the smell alone was intoxicating. Bowls were filled and we floated cilantro on top. Wow! It was fantastic. We thoroughly enjoyed this soup. This will be a must-have for the coming NH winter. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nhcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Sooo Good!! Used fresh shittake and oyster along with a small can of sliced mushrooms. Instead of the shrimp and shrimp stock I just used the plain water and added some additional veggies like bok choy and red pepper. I actually had galangal and bird eye chillies but used sriracha for the red chili paste/sauce. SOO GOOD!! Perfect amount of spice and the house smelt fab!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Turkey Tom Kha Gai

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into a spicy Thai soup with coconut milk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States