Tom Thumb Bars (Coconut Specialties) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
These bars are very very good. Moist and flavorful. We love coconut and walnuts, so I increased each by 1/2 cup. For an extra sweet treat, frost with cream cheese icing. These freeze well, too. Thanks Juanita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
These bars were fairly simple to make and the ingredients were on hand. They were pretty good, however I thought the crust was a little bit too salty. If you use unsalted butter, then adding the salt is probably a good idea, but if you are using salted butter, don't add very much salt. It doesn't need it. I will probably make this again, but I think I will continue my search for the ultimate coconut bar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I find these overly sweet and soft. The best part of them for me was the walnuts. I will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Photo by mar101997
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Turned out great. My hubby doesn't like nuts so I substituted dark chocolate chips for the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This recipe similar to the recipe my mother made and was a personal favorite. We called them chews. The main difference was her recipe did not have salt or walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
These cookie bars brought back such great memories. As a child in the 60's we went to Nanny's house in Halifax and these were the buffet drawer favorite. Captured the memory exactly! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beltsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Yum! I halved the recipe and baked in a 9x9 inch brownie pan, so I cut each baking time by 5 minutes. For my fiancee's benefit, I replaced the walnuts with 1/2 cup chocolate chips and I also added 1/4 cup rolled oats. I chose this recipe because the name was interesting and because I prefer classic recipes, but I'm glad they turned out well. ;p Going into the recipe book for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Super easy and super delicious! I can say nothing more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNYANN1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States