Tom Szaller's Great Pan or Bird Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Delish!! Just loved this stuffing! Did all the prep work the day before Thanksgiving and cooked it up for one hour, stirred it to mix the crunchy parts around and cooked it for 15 more mins. Added Celery and 1 Tblsp sage, toasted my bread first! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I always skip not only making stuffing but also skip consuming stuffing that others make as its not my favorite. This thanksgiving, I decided to give it a shot and used this recipe, and much to the delight of everyone at the table, it was a HIT! Even with my teenagers! Who doesn't agree that bacon makes everything better? The flavor is like no other stuffing I've had! The reason I give it 4 not 5 stars is because it does take a lot of prep, dirty pans and time. I would suggest preparing all but the bread a day ahead and then add the bread the day of baking to keep it from getting soggy. I also used chicken broth and drippings from the turkey instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made this today for Thanksgiving 2014, the smell is throughout the house I don't think my husband will make it till dinner time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raine16

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I made this recipe with some modifications. First, I did not use celery salt since I did not have that at hand. I wish I would have added chopped celery. Second, I used half the order of bread and half of jiffy corn bread. The reason I used jiffy corn bread was because I thought the dish was a bit salty, so I used corn bread to sweeten it up some. I toasted the bread and sprinkled in some sage. I also added 1 more cup of water to really soak the dish. I used my hands to mix the ingredients well. I liked it. Depending on how big a hit it is tomorrow, I'll think about doing this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
was way too "peppery" and just not what I thought it was going to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
tried it Thanksgiving 2013. lots of compliments. Make this again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
The recipe itself is very good. With a crying newborn, I threw in all the stock and of course that was way too much! Oh well, I baked it uncover the whole time and just ate the crunchies on top...lol I will make this again of course with a little tweeking here and there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarMoon Mommi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Delicious!!!! One of my sons was present just after I made it, he took a bite and went for more! And he does not even like dressing very much. So when he says it is delicious, it is delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibiana Barberi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
never liked stuffing, as a child, until I had it with sausage. this recipe (peppers omitted but parsley and chantrelles added) was divine, and was even better than the original dish that won my heart as a kid! a definite keeper, and permanent presence for my future turkey dinners
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
If you’re a traditional bread stuffing purist don’t try this, especially on Thanksgiving when you don’t want to take any chances! I was after something different tonight and this was it. Green peppers in stuffing was a first for me. So was bacon. And this was the first time I did not add a beaten egg. Rather than boiling the vegetables, bacon and sausage, I browned the meats and sweated the vegetables. I added the warmed broth to the combined ingredients. I used about 1/3 less of the spices called for which proved to be a good call for us. Bottom line? Eh –nice to try, but not a repeat for us. There was so much going on with this stuffing that the “bread” part of bread stuffing was lost. Two stars from Hubs, and I’m being generous with my three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States